The Continental League


The Continental League:

The Continental League was an idea proposed of an eight team baseball league throughout the united states and Canada. The continental league's goal was to join the MLB. However, the League never occurred and the idea was abandoned before the first game was even played. Although the idea was lost, the MLB expanded in response.

The league was first proposed by William Shea the attorney of New York city. After the Brooklyn dodgers, and New York giants moved to California the city lost a significant amount of money. To get this money back, Shea proposed a new baseball league with a brand new franchise in New York to create the city more revenue.

Big image

Response by MLB

The Continental League had a team in Houston, Dallas/ Fort worth, Minneapolis, New York, Toronto, Denver, Atlanta, and Buffalo. Soon the MLB would expand creating teams which would later become the Houston Astros, Minnesota Twins, New York Mets, Toronto Blue Jays, Colorado Rockies, Atlanta Braves, and Buffalo which became a triple "A" Team