The Caste System and its levels

The Indian social ladder


The Brahmins were the highest level in the caste system. Brahmins were priests and academics. They were considered basically holy. They had all the privileges available. In order to be a Brahmin, there were five requirements.

1. Must be of Brahmin decent on both sides of the family.

2. Must be a Yati.

3. Mantra

4. Virtue

5. and knowledge

Big image


Kshatriyas were the warriors and kings in the social placement. They were like the protectors. The root word Kshatra translates to rule, authority. Symbols often used to address the Kshatriyas was two swords through a shield. Their job was to protect the people, they were like a police force.
Big image


Vaisyas are the third highest of 4 categories of the Hindu society. They are traditionally described as commoners. If someone was a Vaisya they were commonly a merchant, trader, or farmer. They were usually responsible for gathering and distributing food.
Big image


The fourth and “lowest” place on the caste system. Traditionally artisans and laborers, but also worked as servants to the higher castes. Being a sudra was essentially being a peasant and all other classes looked down on you. The only way for you to be even more looked down on was to be an untouchable.
Big image


You could become an untouchable if you married outside of your caste of violated laws. Considered to be out of the caste system. They had the jobs no one else wanted, like disposing with dead cattle and their hide, working with human feces, urine, spit, and sweat, and taking lives for a living (fisherman, ect.). Depending on where untouchables had to eat the flesh of cattle, pigs and chickens.
Big image