Mount Rushmore National Memorial

By Maddie Lombardi


Mount Rushmore is located in the Black Hills. The memorial is of four United States Presidents(George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln) . The sculptures are sixty feet tall and cover 1,278.45 acres of land. This was sculpted by Gutzon Borglum and his son, Lincoln Borglum. Construction began in 1927 and was completed between 1934 and 1939.


Mount Rushmore has a humid continental climate. It is rainy mainly in May and June. The average highs are in the 70's all year and the average low ranges from 18*-60*.

Association with Indians.

Lakota Sioux Indians belief that the Black Hills are sacred. The government had to give land to the Sioux so they could build the monument.


The best time to take pictures with the presidents are in between 9 and 11. The Sun is shining on the carvings and you could see them without the shadows.

The Avenue of Flags features all fifty state's and six United States territories' flags. After walking down it, you could use the viewing stations to see the fine details of the presidents.

Walk down the Presidential Trail and get a up-close-and-personal with these statues. The trail has two ways, one with steps and one with ramps.

During the Summer, the park rangers put on a film about veterans with dramatic lighting.

Fun Facts

The Mountain is named after a governor that went to find the part of the Black Hills the monument was to be on.

The four presidents that are carved into the mountain were living over a 130 year time period.

Thomas Jefferson was originally going to be to George Washington's right, but due to poor granite, was put to his left. The original Jefferson carving was blasted off.

There is a small room added in 1998 called the Hall of Records that has the texts of many important documents.