The Three Branches of Government

By: Madelyn Manley

The Three Branches of Government

The Three Branches of Government were created by the Constitution (more so the authors) to equally distribute power of the government. It is made up of three branches, called the executive, legislative, and the judicial branches. Without these separate powers, the government would be unbalanced and the United States would be just like the days of the Articles of Confederation!

Well, hurry up. You need to find out more, don't you? Oh, don't tell me that you think this is it... Go ahead, scroll down!

Photo Credit:


All photos used in this flyer are not owned, nor taken by me. All photos with links absent from under them do NOT, I repeat, DO NOT, belong to me.

The Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch was established by Article I of the Constitution, and along with consisting of the House of Representatives and Senate, those two make up the United States Congress, which has the power to enact legislation, declare war, confirm or reject most of the Presidential appointments, and the right to substantial investigative authority.

Information Credit:

Photo Credit:


The House of Representatives

The House of Representatives has an age minimum of 25 years. It has a maximum of 435 members, and is in equal responsibilities and powers as Senate. The number of Representatives for each state depends on the population of the state. The annual salary for each representative is $174,000. The annual salary for the House Speaker is $223,500. For the Majority and Minority leaders, the salary is $193,400. Each term is 2 years.

Photo Credit:


To qualify for Senate, you need to be at least 30 years old, you must be a citizen of the U.S. for at least the past nine years, and you need to be a resident of the state you wish to represent at the time of your election. The term limit for senators is 6 years. For senators, the salary is $174,000. The party leaders are paid $193,400. There are 2 senators for each state, leaving the total at 100 senators.

Photo Credit:

The Executive Branch

The Executive Branch

The Executive Branch consists of the President, the Vice President, and the Cabinet.

No, not what you're thinking. It not the cabinet you have in your kitchen!


Big image
Big image

Presidential Qualifications, Term Limit, and Salary

To be President, you must meet the following requirements:

• Must be a natural born citizen of the United States of America

• Must meet the age requirement of 35 years

• Must have been a resident of the United States for at least 14 years

The President may not go the election limit of two. Each term is 4 years, therefore the President may not go over 8 years in office.

The President's annual salary is $400,000.

Wait, We're Missing Someone... Ah! The Vice President!

Poor people. This is one of the most under recognized political standpoints in the system! Here are the responsibilities/duties of the Vice President. (No Student Joke intended.)

• To assume the Presidential responsibilities if the President is unable to do so

• To be the President of Senate

The Vice Presidential annual salary is $230,700. The maximum length of term is indefinite, but the most anyone has ever served in two terms, or eight years.


Vice President of the United States
Joseph R. Biden

Department of State
Secretary John Kerry

Department of the Treasury
Secretary Jack Lew

Department of Defense
Secretary Chuck Hagel

Department of Justice
Attorney General Eric H. Holder, Jr.

Department of the Interior
Secretary Sally Jewell

Department of Agriculture
Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack

Department of Commerce
Secretary Penny Pritzker

Department of Labor
Secretary Thomas E. Perez

Department of Health and Human Services
Secretary Kathleen Sebelius

Department of Housing and Urban Development
Secretary Shaun L.S. Donovan

Department of Transportation
Secretary Anthony Foxx

Department of Energy
Secretary Ernest Moniz

Department of Education
Secretary Arne Duncan

Department of Veterans Affairs
Secretary Eric K. Shinseki

Department of Homeland Security
Secretary Jeh Johnson

The following positions have the status of Cabinet-rank:

White House Chief of Staff
Denis McDonough

Environmental Protection Agency
Administrator Gina McCarthy

Office of Management & Budget
Director Sylvia Burwell

United States Trade Representative
Ambassador Michael Froman

United States Mission to the United Nations
Ambassador Samantha Power

Council of Economic Advisers
Chairman Jason Furman

Small Business Administration
Acting Administrator Marianne O'Brien Markowitz

Information/Paste Credit:

Big image

Presidential Line of Succession

Photo Credit:

Judicial Branch

The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court has the power to lead the Judicial Branch, deem things unconstitutional, interpret law, evaluate constitutionality, and check, if necessary, laws.

The current Justices includes:

Roberts John G. Jr.

Samuel Alito Jr.

Sonia Sotomayor

Elena Kagan

Antonin Scalia

Anthony Kennedy

Clarence Thomas

Ruth Ginsburg

Stephen Breyer