By: Maggie, Tyler, and Aaron

History of Shia Islam

  • Shia Islam is the second largest branch of islam after Sunni Islam.
  • Shia Islam is like Sunni Islam, it has been divided into many branches, however only three have currently have a significant number of followers.
  • This group began accepting Muhammad as their prophet.
  • One very significant figure is Ashura.
  • He was murdered in Karbala (Iraq) in 680. Shia commemorate this event each year on Ashura.
  • It is a day of mourning recognized throughout the Shia world.

5 W's

  • Who: Shiism began with the death of Muhammad when the two religions separated. There leader was Muhammad's son in law Ali which is their Imam or leader.
  • Why: This religion started when the two religions seperated.
  • When: After Muhammad died in 632 CE.
  • What: About 1.6 billion.
  • Where: It is practiced in these main regions Iran, Iraq, Azerbaijan, Bahrain.

Map of places it is practiced

Big image

Rituals and Practices

  • Shia Muslims engage in gory mourning rituals such as self-flagellation and self-mutilation in celebration of Ashura, one of the holiest days in Shia Islam.
  • Another Ritual is called "tatbeer," participants cut their heads with swords and spears in mourning for the fallen Imam Hussein.
  • Another Shia self-flagellation ritual involves the use of a zanjeer (a chain with blades.)

Day of Muharram

In 2014 this ritual starts on Friday, October 24th and ends on Sunday, November 23rd. It is also known as Asura. "Ashura" is a highly important day for both sects of Islam the Shias and the Sunnis.

5 principles of the religion

  • Tawhid (oneness) to unify something as one
  • Adalah (justice) commands them to do good things before evil
  • Nubian (prophethood) sends out messengers to teach mankind gods message
  • Imamah (leadership) specific leaders to lead and guide mankind
  • Yawm al Qiyyamah (the day of resurrection) God will raise mankind for judgement. In other words it would be like when Jesus rose from the dead.