West Des Moines Community Schools | April 2, 2021

Big picture

From ‘Broken Down And Dirty’ To Up And Running

How A WDMCS Student Restored Valley’s Greenhouse

The interest of agriculture runs in Valley High School junior Nathan Steimel’s family.

Growing up with gardens of vegetables and making homemade salsa, a wealth of knowledge has passed down his family tree. That, coupled with natural leadership skills, has led Steimel to revitalize Valley’s greenhouse.

“Being able to work in the greenhouse has given me a vent through COVID-19,” he said.

Read full article >

Big picture
Big picture

Real Heroes Don't Wear Capes, They Teach

In the past 12 months, we all were forced to adapt our lives to deal with the uncertainty of a deadly pandemic. We heard from many of you who shared that it’s difficult to imagine how our teachers and support staff took on the enormous task of engaging and instructing our students—whether in person or online—as they met and overcame the toughest learning challenges in generations.

We are reaching out to you today for one way to support our students and staff. Would you consider donating to the West Des Moines Community Schools Foundation’s (WDMCSF) TEACHER GRANT PROGRAM? The program, started in 2018, supports innovation in the classroom and provides supplemental funds to teachers for projects/supplies to enhance student learning. In the last three years, approximately $25,000 has been granted, fulfilling teacher requests for STEM equipment, reading enhancement software, dramatic play centers, self-care stations, professional development opportunities, and much more. Last year, however, more than $5,000 in teacher grant requests went unfunded, as requests exceeded money available.

Donating is easy and can be done online! Please select Teacher Grant Program (first listing) from the drop-down menu. If you prefer to send a check, please remit to: WDMCS Foundation, 3550 Mills Civic Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50265 (write “Teacher Grant Program” in the memo). All funds raised in this campaign go directly toward the Teacher Grant Program.


Tina Mowry Hadden
WDMCS Foundation Board President
Donate to the Teacher Grant Program

Please select Teacher Grant Program (first listing) from the dropdown menu.

School/Community Relations

Laine Mendenhall-Buck

Alexandra Wade


Aaron Young