Otherwise known as HEXADECIMAL...


Refers to the base-16 number system, which consists of 16 unique symbols: the numbers 0-9 and A-F, which is easier to read than binary numbers!


  • Relating to or using a system of numerical notation that has 16 rather than 10 as its base.
  • It uses the digits 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, A, B, C, D, E and F; with the numbers being used for 0-9 and A-F for decimal values 10-15.
  • For example, the letter F represents the decimal number 15.
  • It can be used as a convenient short hand notation for representing 16 and 32 bit memory addresses.

Hex Conversion

Big image

Converting Binary to Hex

With an byte (8 bit binary number), you need to split it into two nibbles (4 bits) before converting. With each separate nibble, you find its equivalent in hex.
Big image

Converting Hex to Decimal

First you need to separate the two hex numbers and they are both changed into their equivalent decimal numbers. The first number (most significant figure) is times by 16 (the base number of hex!) while the other (least significant figure) is left as it is. Then, you add them together!
Big image