MGM 7th Grade House News

November 2, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 7th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 7th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Save the Date: Report Cards will be distributed Monday November 5, 2018

MGM Honors Veterans November 16, 2018

Dear MGM Family,


You are cordially invited to our Meadow Glen Middle School Veterans Breakfast.

On Friday, November 16, 2018 we will honor our active duty and retired military veteran family members with a special breakfast. Students are encouraged to bring veteran family members to enjoy breakfast with them. The breakfast will be from 7:30 am-8:00 am. Immediately following the breakfast, we will have a school wide assembly where we honor our veterans. We would love for you to stay for that, if possible.


Please RSVP to the breakfast by signing up online at https://goo.gl/forms/Dkp7vzZIkMQwmGPu2 no later than Friday, November 9, 2018, so that final preparations can be made.


We look forward to honoring our veterans. Thank you for your service.


Sincerely,

Meadow Glen Middle School

Washington, D.C. Trip

There was a Washington, D.C. parent meeting held on October 30, 2018. If you were unable to attend, please review the attached presentation. This will give information about cost, a sample itinerary, payment options, and chaperone opportunities.


This is an awesome trip for students that always culminates in our 7th grade veterans project (completed in the spring). Students will be learning more information about this project as the year progresses.


Please contact Amanda Kerbis if you have additional questions. akerbis@lexington1.net

Make Up Jr. Beta Club Induction Ceremony

If you missed Thursday's Jr. Beta Club Induction Ceremony, the next induction will be held on Thursday, January 10th at 6pm in the MGM Theatre.


If you have questions, please reach out to rlcooper@lexington1.net.

Thank you to all who participated in SLCs. They were a great success!

If you need to reschedule, please contact your child's CREW leader. Emails are listed below. If you have specific concerns, please reach out to your child's teacher as well.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.


Administration:

Dr. Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell -jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


Counselor:

Davis Myers- dmyers@lexington1.net


House Leader

Amanda Hammill ahammill@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Andrea Roberts- aroberts@lexington1.net

Melanie Wells- mwells@lexington1.net

Joyce Perkins- jperkins@lexington1.net


Science

Taylor Fralick- tfralick@lexington1.net

Regan Moore- rwmoore@lexington1.net

Mary Harbaugh- mharbaugh@lexington1.net


Math

Bill Rogers- brogers@lexington1.net

Rebecca Fischer- rfischer@lexington1.net

Tammy Hardy- thardy@lexington1.net


Social Studies

Amanda Hammill- ahammill@lexington1.net

Derrick Price- dwprice@lexington1.net

Amanda Kerbis - akerbis@lexington1.net

Ben Jackson- bjackson@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Manuel Vasquez mvasquez@lexington1.net,

Hilda Duarte hduartegomez@lexington1.net,

Filder Segura fsegura@lexington1.net

MGM Counseling Department

Follow the counseling center on Twitter @mgmcounseling for updates from our counselors!

7TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: ELA students will be working on their essays all week about how Salva survived in a challenging environment in A Long Walk to Water. On Wednesday, November 7th students will take a formative assessment on theme.


MATH: See Schoology.


SCIENCE: See Schoology.


SOCIAL STUDIES: Summative Test on Scientific Revolution, Glorious Revolution, and Enlightenment 11/9/18.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Click here for a link to all WL updates.


Encore:

Art: Congratulations to the following students for being selected for After-School Honors Art this year--

1. Katie Beth Bickley

2. Lauren Douda

3. Lauren White

4. Jennifer Boone

5. Yoshi Chilukuri

6. Tallie Rauch

7. Hir Panchal

8. Ian Hazelrigg

9. Abby Gricius

10. Gracie Hair

11. Alyssa Kenneda

12. Noelle Promm

13. Owen Smith

14. Jane Zheltov

15. Rose Ford



Honor Choir After School Rehearsal (6th, 7th, and 8th Grade)- Friday, November 9 from 3:45pm-5:15pm in the MGM Choir Room and Theatre

Basketball Tryouts

Check out times and dates for upcoming Basketball Tryouts.

PTO Updates

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

PTO FUNDRAISER

Big picture

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We are looking forward to another great year!