Leyden Pride

March 21, 2022

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Next week is spring break! There is no school March 28 through April 1. Classes resume on Monday, April 4. Have a safe and enjoyable week Eagles.

Spring Spirit Week Themes


Monday - Pajama Day

Tuesday - Tourist Day

Wednesday - Country and Country Club

Thursday - Celebrity/Musician Look Alike

Friday - Class Colors


Monday - Decades Monday

Tuesday - Twin Tuesday

Wednesday - Formal Wednesday

Thursday - Teacher Thursday

Friday - Olympic Friday, Class Shirts

“Behind-the-wheel” registration starts after break

The driver education behind-the-wheel program will run for four sessions at nine days per session. There will be no instruction on June 20, and July 4 to July 8. The driving session dates and times are as follows:

Session 1

Thursday, June 2 – Tuesday, June 14 = 9 Days

7:45 am - 9:45 am

10:00 am - 12:00 pm

12:15 pm - 2:15 pm

Session 2

Wednesday, June 15 – Tuesday, June 28 = 9 Days

7:45 am - 9:45 am

10:00 am - 12:00 pm

12:15 pm - 2:15 pm

Session 3

Wednesday, June 29 –Monday, July 18 = 9 Days

7:45 am - 9:45 am

10:00 am - 12:00 pm

12:15 pm - 2:15 pm

Session 4

Tuesday, July 19 – Friday, July 29 = 9 Days

7:45 am - 9:45 am

10:00 am - 12:00 pm

12:15 pm - 2:15 pm

Register either through the MySchoolBucks website or through the MySchoolBucks mobile app. Registration for behind-the-wheel instruction will begin on:

  • Class of 2023: Tuesday, April 5
  • Class of 2024: Monday, April 11

Registration closes on Friday, April 22. After the student’s registration has been approved, an invoice for payment of $250.00 will be sent by email. All payments are due on Friday, April 29.

For questions regarding in-seat driver education classes taken during the school year, please contact Department Chair Chris Cook ccook@leyden212.org.

For questions regarding summer behind-the-wheel instruction, please contact Dean Dennis Byrne dbyrne@leyden212.org or Dean James Powers jpowers@leyden212.org.

Parent-Teacher Conference Feedback

Leyden would like to hear from all parents - those who attended Parent Teacher Conference and those who didn't - so that we can learn more about your experience. Please provide your feedback by April 4 by using the form: Parent Teacher Conference Feedback

Leyden continues to celebrate Women's History Month

Did you know just over 100 years ago, Jeanette Rankin became the first Congress Woman in U.S History? Four years after that, the 19th Amendment was passed, which gave all women a chance to vote, furthering equality. Jeanette fought for suffrage at a state level as well, being instrumental in giving women the right to vote in Montana before becoming a Congress Woman. Jeanette Rankin blazed a trail which gave women a voice in who represented us as a nation.

Link: Read more about her story

One Amazing Story: Cai Li Kirchen

Have you met Cai Li? Maybe not, because she just transferred into Leyden this year as a senior after attending private schools all her life. She recently earned the Dominican University Presidential Scholarship through exceptional academic performance and involvement outside of the classroom.

Cai Li's is a story of adapting to change, overcoming challenges, and championing fellow female students to pursue opportunities in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). She says "we’ve just started to close the gender gap in stem and other male-dominated fields, so now is a perfect time to explore a career in one of those respective areas. By doing so, young women not only contribute to creating change for the better, but also get to pursue their dreams."

Getting to know Cai Li is such a powerful way to celebrate Women's History Month with our school community. Check out the video at the link below:

Watch Video

Polish club is collecting items for families in need

Polish club is collecting donationed goods for families seeking shelter in Poland. This idea came from student club president Emilia Kulesza and club sponsor Justyna Jablonska. They rallied clubs and are bringing the Leyden community together to make a difference in the lives of those families in need. To help in these efforts, please place needed items such as outerwear, clothes, non-perishable food items and hygiene supplies in the bins located inside the main entrance (#4) of East Leyden before Wednesday.

Big picture

West Leyden graduation cap and gown distribution

Jostens will be at West Leyden on Thursday, April 7, to distribute cap and gown orders. Students will be able to pick up their cap and gown order during lunch periods only. They must have their student ID when picking up their order. Any seniors who still need to order a cap and gown should visit jostens.com and place an order as soon as possible. Please note that students are required to purchase the Cap and Gown Unit to participate in the graduation ceremony.
Big picture

Congratulations Leyden State Champions!

Students inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS)

Last week, 72 Leyden students were inducted into the National Honor Society in special ceremonies at both East and West. Each of these students have excelled in the areas of scholarship, leadership, character, and service, and were selected by a faculty committee from a pool of eligible students:


Kamil Bak, Nicola Bak, Olivia Barnas, Pakhi Bhatt, Yuliana Castro, Jazmin Diaz, Alexa Giannoulis, Isabelle Guillu, Alexandra Holubowicz, Natalie Juszczyk, Daniela Katlabi, Kylie Kopecky, Chloe Kovacevich, Jessica Kovacheva, Monica Krol, Maja Krzysztofik, Gabriela Lenczewski, Martyna Lipski, Victoria Lorens, Samuel Malke, Kayla Mata, Melania Mazur, Ayah Najimi, Michael O'Neill, Isabella Ortiz, Moncerrat Perez, Jacob Porras, Chloe Renteria, Olivia Rutkowski, Emily Sulka, Zofia Szumilas, Crystal Umerez and Olivia Zurawska.


Brisa Acosta, Samantha Almazan, Melanie Alvarenga, Aliana Arredondo, Lizeth Avitia-Nevarez, Sophia Barandiaran, Priscila Bedoy, Melissa Castillo, Rhiannon Dienethal, Daryl Esparza, Anthony Falco, Marisol Garcia, Alexa Marie Guillen, Arlette Guzman, Kevin Hernandez, Nancy Araly Hernandez, Natalie Itzel Hernandez, Korneliusz Kopera, Olivia Kudyba, Christian Lopez, Jackeline Lopez, Emily Thuy Linh Luu, Joyslyn Maldonado, Angilee Mantilla, Katlyn Marshall-Lang, Vanessa Mendiola, Sarah Monarrez, Iris Morales, Citlalic Navar, Zulema Navar, Britney Orcullo, Katherine Ortiz, Abigail Pikor, Azul Rios, Maya Rubio, Alondra Saucedo, Rodolfo Torres, Andy Trujillo and David Villarreal.

In addition, four students who were inducted in 2021 participated in the live ceremony including: Moises Munoz, Ali El-Hindi, Julia Koite, and Rebecca Reith.

Dean Sanchez earns his doctorate

Dr. Jorge J. Sánchez successfully defended his dissertation and has completed his doctoral program at Illinois State University. Congratulations, Dr. Sánchez!

In the News