Holifield Happenings

March 12, 2015

Upcoming Events

Mar. 16 (Mon) - Student and Teacher Holiday :-)

Mar. 17 (Tues) - Beta Club (7:15); Fractions Quiz

Mar. 18 (Wed) - MAP testing - Reading (10:00); Musical practice afterschool for ALL STUDENTS until 3:45.

Mar. 19 (Thurs) - Figurative Language test

Mar. 20 (Fri) - Revolutionary War test; MIddleton Place money and forms due; Bingo and Baskets Night

Mar. 24 (Tues) - SS Notebooks due; PTO Spirit Night @ Wild Wings

Mar. 25 (Wed) - Musical Practice for all speaking parts and solos including recorders until 3:45

Mar. 26 - PBIS Cookout

Mar. 27 (Fri) - STEMs Day

Mar. 30 (Mon) - Apr. 6 (Mon) - Spring Break

Apr. 8 (Wed) - Musical Practice for ALL STUDENTS until 4:00: Dress Rehearsal, Bring Costume

Apr. 10 (Fri) - Middleton Place field study

Apr. 13 (Mon) - Musical Practice for ALL STUDENTS until 4:00: Dress Rehearsal, Bring Costume

Apr. 16 (Thurs) - 4th/5th Grade Musical Performance at 6:30 pm; report times will be announced closer to the date.

Bingo and Baskets

You should have received an forwarded email from me this week from Missy Brown. (Her daughter is in Mrs. Reeves' class.) She has graciously agreed to organize and prepare our basket for the silent auction coming up next Friday.


The theme is SC Palmetto State. We are asking for donation to arrive by Tuesday...and we don't have school on Monday... so time is of the essence. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.


She has a great list of suggested items if you are like me and need a little inspiration. I won't list them all here for the sake of space, but they were in the email I forwarded to you. If you didn't receive the email or want more information, please let me know. You can also email Missy at missybrown0123@gmail.com.

Don't forget: Middleton Place forms and money are due March 20th.

Reading

We will have test on identifying figurative language in stories on Thursday of next week. This is something that we talk regularly in class as we read aloud together. However, I have discovered that the children do not identify them in text as easily when they are reading independently. We have worked as a class. They are now working with a partner. Next, they will practice independently.


They are already pointing out more figurative language in their independent reading! :-) I've overheard several book club discussions about figurative language, too!

Math

Fractions! We have mastered equivalent fractions, common demoninators, comparing fractions, ordering fractions, adding fractions and subtracting fractions! Whew! Now it is time for a quiz! Tomorrow we will review those skills. Tuesday we will take the quiz.

Science and Social Studies

Wow! Your children amazed themselves. I knew they could do it though! The Road to the Revolution is under our belt, and we marched into the Revolutionary War today!


Please continue encouraging your child to use their morning work time wisely to prevent having to work on notebook assignments at home. We are sprinting to the finish line, and we will finish strong!!


  • Revolutionary War Test Friday, March 20
  • Light unit begins Friday, March 20
  • Light Test Thursday, March 26
  • Government unit begins Tuesday, April 7
  • Government Test Wednesday, April 15
  • Westward Expansion unit begins Wednesday, April 17
  • Westward Expansion Test Friday, April 24
  • Civil War Unit begins (final exam after SC PASS testing on May 7th/8th) Monday, April 27
  • Organisms and Environments unit begins (final exam after SC PASS testing on May 7th/8th) Monday, April 27