Monroe Doctrine Limits Europe

By: Karissa Kaypaghian

On December 2, 1823, President James Monroe introduced a new policy to Congress – the Monroe Doctrine. It stated that the Western Hemisphere was no longer open for colonization, the political system of America was different from Europe, and the United States would look upon any interference in North or South America by European nations as a threat to its security. Also, the United States would refrain from participation in European wars and would not disturb existing colonies in the Western Hemisphere. The Monroe Doctrine proclaimed that the Americas should be free from future Europeans colonization and from European interference in sovereign countries’ affairs. President Monroe established this policy due to few reasons. One example for his actions was that several countries in South America had recently encountered revolutions against their European colonial owners and ended up with republican governments. Since the United States agreed with their political philosophy, they didn’t want to see the newly freed nations become European colonies again. So as a result, the Monroe Doctrine was created to secure the newly independent colonies of Latin America from European control. The Monroe Doctrine also helped ensure the United States there would be no interference in their westward expansion. In addition, the government became less worried about an attack from imperialist nations.