Teeka Waters

EDU 692 Introduction

All about Me...

Gender: Female

Age: 32 on October 16th

Neighborhood community: Rural

Socioeconomic status: Middle Class

Physical or mental disabilities that challenge daily activities: High Blood Pressure

Education level: BA in Sociology

Family structures: I have 5 sisters and 3 brothers. I am the baby.

Political affiliations: N/A

Religious affiliations: Baptist- I was raised in the church. My dad is a pastor.

Type(s) of schools attended: Public

Ethnic/racial background: African American

Nationality; American

Country (or countries) identified as a places of ancestral origin: Africa

Language(s) spoken at home: English

Summarize the type of environment in which you were raised. Include information about where you were raised and the type of family structure that surrounded you. Feel free to include any other information that defines your cultural upbringing.

My name is Teeka Waters and I’m from a small city called Laurinburg, North Carolina. Laurinburg is the type of city where when you graduate you never want to look back. It’s great to visit but not to live. We literally have one Wal-Mart. Each area of the little town is broke up into gangs. They all go to the same schools but cannot get along. Violence was not as bad when I lived there but now the crime rate has increased tremendously. When I graduated from high school in 2002 I went on to attend Fayetteville State University which is only forty-five minutes from where I grew up and where I still reside. I’m a 2006 graduate of Fayetteville State University where I received my Bachelors in Arts in Sociology. I was raised in a home with both parents. My parents had me later in life when they were 38 and 37. I grew up the baby with 5 sisters and 3 brothers that are decades older than me. My oldest sibling is 52 and I will be 32 on October 16. My dad is a pastor so I was raised in the church and I have a very strong religious background. I was the first of 9 kids to go to college and I’m proud of all my accomplishments.

Sky's The Limit

I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me.

Describe in detail the type of schooling you received, from pre-kindergarten through undergraduate work.

Growing up I attended public schools. In Laurinburg we only had one high school, Scotland High. I attended a predominately African American College which offered me several scholarships but I still had to take out student loans. My Education was my main focus, it was my way out of Laurinburg.

Describe any unique talents, interests or hobbies that contribute to the manner in which you see and experience the world.

My outlet was writing. I love writing poetry, and short stories. I have even considered getting some of my work published. I could sit down for thirty minutes and write a poem and win first place in an oratorical contest. I still love writing but teaching has been a passion since I was young.


Can you think of one piece of advice that has been handed down through your family that reflects values held by your ancestors?


My dad has always told me that my education is the one thing that no one can take away from me. He has always been my biggest supporter.