MGM 6th Grade Gator News

April 4, 2016

Welcome!

Welcome Back! We hope that everyone had a great Spring Break!

Be sure to read through for house news, upcoming assessments, and highlights!

News & Updates

Color Me Gator

MGM's awesome spring event COLOR ME GATOR is Friday, April 29. Color Me Gator is a color run of epic proportions that takes place during the school day. You won't want to miss it! Registration is $10 -- every one who registers will receive at least a t-shirt and 1 color dye pack (the t-shirt design is new this year). Deadline to register is April 11. Registration forms were sent home with students and an electronic copy is available. Register today! Click here for the registration form!
Color Me Gator

Color Me Gator Sponsors

Are you interested in having your business sponsor the Color Me Gator event this year? This is a great advertising opportunity, and we would love your support!

Please click HERE to read more information.

Spring Greens Staff Appreciation Lunch - Volunteer Signup

MGM Staff Appreciation


Happy spring everyone! This month's Staff Appreciation lunch will be on Tuesday, April 19th. The theme this month is Spring Greens... salads of all kind!


Please see the sign up list attached and contribute however you can. All items need to be dropped off in the office the day before or the day of by 10AM. We will try to have everything washed and ready for you to pick up after school or the following day. Please remember we have approximately 105 staff members. Your portion should be able to serve 10-12 people. We have plenty of serving utensils so no need to send those.

Thank you all so much for helping. Your generosity is great appreciated!!


https://m.signupgenius.com/#!/showSignUp/20f0444acab28a0fd0-mgms2/29257790

Summer Camp Opportunities

Below is a list of 2016 Summer Camp Opportunities. Click the links for more information on each camp opportunity!


Clemson 4-H Camp http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/4h2.php

Columbia Museum of Art http://www.columbiamuseum.org/learn/summercamp

SC Chamber of Commerce Business Week www.scbusinessweek.com

USC Adventures Series Summer Camps http://saeu.sc.edu/adventures/advseries.php

Clemson Camp Hannon Adventures http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/adventure3.php

Emerging Public Leaders http://riley.furman.edu/education/emerging-public-leaders-application

Leadership Converse 2015 http://www.converse.edu/leadership-converse

Youth Corps http://www.youthcorps.net

Clemson Camp Sewee http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/sewee4.php

United States Military Academy, West Poin thttp://www.westpoint.edu/admissions/SitePages/Summer.aspx

Clemson Camp Wildlife http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/wildlife3.php

Governor's School: GoSciTech http://www.scgssm.org/programs-clubs/go-scitech

Governor's School: iTeam http://www.scgssm.org/outreach-camps

Tech-Know Time Camp (Lego Camp) https://sites.google.com/a/techknowtime.com/tkt/

Clemson Camp Voyager http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/voyager3.php

Camp YMCA http://columbiaymca.org/camp/

Camp EdVenture Summer Camps http://www.edventure.org/programs/camps/

Vet CAMP http://www.vet.uga.edu/academic/vetcamp

Palmetto Parent Camp Directory http://www.palmettoparent.com/Camps.aspx

Columbia Living Mag. Camp Guide http://www.columbialivingmag.com/summer-camp-guide

"Serious" Writers Workshop offered for Girls http://www.columbiasc.edu/about/latest-news/1639-serious-writers-workshop-offered-for-6-11-grade-girls-apply-by-may-4

Columbia Children's Theatre http://www.columbiachildrenstheatre.com/

Carolina Wildlife Center Volunteer http://carolinawildlife.org/volunteer/

Palmetto Health Jr. Volunteer Program https://www.volgistics.com/ex/portal.dll/ap?AP=282437381&OR=1

Lexington Medical Center Jr. Volunteer Programhttp://www.lexmed.com/docs/volunteer/LexingtonMedical_Junior_Volunteer_Application_2015.pdf

Upcoming Assessments

Check with your child's teacher if you have questions!

MAP Testing this week!

No Summative Assessments Reported for this week, but please see Schoology for the most up to date information.

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!