Ontario Final Project

Metta Nordman

Canadian Provinces and Territories

Ontario is one of ten Canadian provinces, which include Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Nova Scotia. Canada also has three territories, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

Basic Facts

Ontario has a population of 13.6 million. The capital of Ontario is Toronto, which has a population of 2.79 million people. Ontario is the second largest province, and is were Ottawa, the capital of Canada, is located. Ontario is about 1/6 water, and contains 250,000 rivers, streams, and lakes.

People & Culture

Ontario is the most diverse province in Canada. More than one in four people living in Ontario were born in another country. In not just Ontario, but the entire country, there is a three day festival called Culture Day, which lets you explore arts and culture, and participate in activities. For more information about Culture Day, visit the embedded website.

Ontario History

It was thousands of years ago when the first Aboriginal people came to what is now Ontario. Some Aboriginal nations created villages and farms in the south, while other nations wandered. The French were the first Europeans to arrive in Ontario, followed by the English, who were attracted to the area because of the fur trade. Today, there are 2 Aboriginal languages: Iroquoian, which is spoken by the Iroquois, and Algonquian, which is spoken by the Algonquin, the Ojibwa, and the Cree.