School Counseling Newsletter

Osbourn High School, March 2021

Would you like to contact someone on our School Counseling Services staff?

Last Name -Counselor Name - Email

A-Cab Mrs. Ferentinos Aferentinos@mcpsva.org

Cac-Esq Ms. Amarante Ramarante@mcpsva.org

Esr-Hernandez Ms. Colassard Acolassard@mcpsva.org

Hernandez A-L Mrs. Lavallais Clavallais@mcpsva.org

M-Oa Mrs. Ramos-Chaves Lramoschaves@mcpsva.org

Ob-Re Mr. Phillips Sphillips@mcpsva.org

Rf-Sor Mr. Wigfall Qwigfall@mcpsva.org

Sos-Z Mrs. Huff Chuff@mcpsva.org


Paula Erickson, Administrative Assistant Perickson@mcpsva.org

Dania Otero, Translator Dotero@mcpsva.org

Michele Edwards, Registrar Medwards@mcpsva.org

Cherish Skinker, Ontime Graduation coordinator Cskinker@mcpsva.org

Juliet Violett, College and Career Counselor Jviolett@mcpsva.org


Robert Yarborough, Director Ryarborough@mcpsva.org

Joann Gainard, Social Worker Jgainard@mcpsva.org

Dan Whittaker, School Psychologist, Dwhittaker@mcpsva.org

Mari Pringle, New Horizons Counselor, Mpringle@mcpsva.org

Larry Gilligan, Attendance officer, lgilligan@mcpsva.org

Upcoming Virtual College Visit with Virginia State University (March 1st 2:00)

Seniors, please register here if you would like to attend a college visit with Virginia State. Zoom


https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScY3AKO3bNb7rl3fmAc1N_SAyczjDXq5dty-bd_kRcqSqBlyQ/viewform

They will be conducting on site admissions at this event.

Big picture

Choose your courses for next year!

Now is the time to make sure you have logged into Powerschool and made your course selections for next year. Counselors will meet with each student individually to verify the selections are accurate. Please reach out to your counselor with questions.

Information can be found on the Osbourn Website in the Counseling tab.(Course Registration 2021-2022). Click the links below to access the curriculum fair and the graduation requirement video.

Big picture
Big picture

Virginia Boys State of the American Legion

OHS juniors can apply to attend this one week event at Radford University. Boys State is among the most respected educational programs of government instruction for high school students. Each participant becomes a part of the operation of his local, county and state government.

At Boys State, participants are exposed to the rights and privileges, the duties and the responsibilities of a franchised citizen. The training is objective and practical with city, county and state governments operated by the students elected to the various offices. Activities include legislative sessions, court proceedings, law enforcement presentations, assemblies, bands, chorus and recreational programs.

Students who earned 4.0 or higher in the second quarter

We would like to give a shout out to the students who earned a 4.0 gpa or higher in the second quarter. Congratulations to all of you!

Juniors- Now is the time to register for the SAT

If you intend to apply to college next year, now is the time to register for the SAT. Please see the instructions below. If you qualify for free/reduced lunch, you are eligible for a fee waiver to pay for the test. Email Mrs. Violett for more information. Jviolett@mcpsva.org.

It's time to choose your classes for next year

The course registration season for the 2021-22 school year has begun.

Our OHS School Counselors are currently working with students individually over the next month through certain classes to complete each student’s course selections for next year. Each students US History, PE 9 or PE 10 teachers will inform their students about their scheduled day that they will meet with their counselor during the schedule listed below.

Current 11th Graders, February 17th – March 9th through US History Classes

Current 10th Graders, March 10th – March 18th through PE 10 Classes

Current 9th Graders, March 19th – April 6th through PE 9 Classes

We ask all students to please review the posted course registration information before their scheduled meeting with their counselor. All course registration information can be found on the Course Registration 2021-22 button under Quick Links on the front of the OHS Webpage.

https://www.mcpsva.org/Page/3957

Your counselors are looking forward to working with each of their students to assist in the planning of next years classes.

If you have questions please feel free to reach out to your students assigned School Counselor or call the School Counseling Services Office at 571-377-7126