Welcome to Union County

A Heritage of Progress

A Few Great Things About Union

Union County is located in the Piedmont region of NC. As of the 2010 census, our population was 201,292. Our county seat is Monroe. The surrounding counties are Cabarrus County to the North, Stanly County to the Northeast, Anson County to the East, Chesterfield County:South Carolina to the Southeast, Lancaster County:South Carolina to the Southwest, and Mecklenburg County to the Northwest.

Union County Seal

Union County was founded in 1842. The county got its name from a compromise between the Whigs, who wanted to name it after Henry Clay, and the Democrats, who wanted to name it for Andrew Jackson. The County Board of Commissioners has 5 members.

Our County Manager, Cynthia Coto!

She is responsible for most day-to-day administrative operations in the county. Ms. Coto earned her undergraduate degree from UCF in liberal studies with an emphasis in business administration, social science, humanities and elementary education,. She has been a member of ICMA (International City/County Management Association) for 30 years.