Y5 Role Models

Collected Resources for Year 5

Favorite Webpages:

Here are some useful sites:

Useful Research Sites:

FUSE: Search with specific name:

https://fuse.education.vic.gov.au/primary/pages/Default.aspx

KidsClick! Web Search: http://www.kidsclick.org

Mashpedia: http://www.mashpedia.com


Hero Definition and History: http://www.mashpedia.com/Hero

My Hero Page: http://myhero.com/go/home.asp


Biography Resources:

Biography Online: http://www.biographyonline.net


Biographies for Kids and Teens: http://botw.org/top/Kids_and_Teens/Society/Biography/


Pintara Biographies for Kids (warning: ads= don't watch videos): http://www.pitara.com/magazine/people.asp


Famous Australians:

http://www.aussieeducator.org.au/reference/general/famousaustralians.html

also: http://www.abc.net.au/schoolstv/australians/


Famous British People: http://www.biography.com/people/groups/british/


Harcourt School Biographies:

http://www.harcourtschool.com/activity/biographies/


http://www.only2clicks.com/home.php?cat=604075

http://www.only2clicks.com/home.php?cat=604085


Garden of Praise Leaders: http://www.gardenofpraise.com/leaders.htm

CNN Heroes:

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/cnn.heroes/


Individual Biographies:

Jamie Oliver: http://www.jamieoliver.com/about/jamie-oliver-biog

Jackie Chan: http://www.talktalk.co.uk/entertainment/film/biography/artist/jackie-chan/biography/45

Nelson Mandela: http://www.biography.com/people/nelson-mandela-9397017

Barack Obama: http://www.biography.com/people/barack-obama-12782369

Jane Goodall: http://www.biography.com/people/jane-goodall-9542363

John Wood: http://www.leavingmicrosoftbook.com/author.html

Videos that could be useful:

Wangari Maathai Tribute Film
The Librarian of Basra
Jane Goodall: What separates us from chimpanzees?
President Barack Obama Biography
Living Proof | Growing a Better Future with Sweet Potatoes
William Kamkwamba: How I built a windmill

Collected by Debbie Alvarez