Positive School News & Other WCPS Highlights

Whether you're new to Wayne County Public Schools, or a long-time member of our school district community, we want you to feel connected and in the know about our schools. Even in this new learning environment, there are great things happening in our classrooms each and every day. We have launched "Connections!" as an added tool to help highlight our students and staff - and to share information that may be important to you.

We hope you enjoy,

Wayne County Public Schools

A new look for remote learning

In September, Chicago Bulls guard Coby White teamed up with Zenni Optical to donate 3,500 Bulls-branded “Blokz” glasses to help support schools in remote learning. The Zenni glasses specialize in blocking blue light emanating off screens. White donated over 600 glasses, a $15,000 value, to teachers and students at Eastern Wayne Middle School. White is a North Carolina native and attended Eastern Wayne Middle as a child. The remainder of glasses were donated to Chicago-based after school programs.

Celebrating our 2020-2021 "Of the Years!"

Each year, WCPS teachers, staff, and administrators are recognized for their educational contributions through various awards programs. Here are two of this year's top winners!

Principal of the Year

Sheila Wolfe is a veteran educator and school administrator. Mrs. Wolfe has served as a school principal since 2008 and has been principal at Northwest Elementary since 2017. Mrs. Wolfe is National Board certified in physical education. She holds a bachelors degree in physical education and health, and a master’s degree in school administration from East Carolina University. As WCPS Principal of the Year, Mrs. Wolfe is representing WCPS in the regional level of the North Carolina Principal of the Year Program.

Teacher of the Year

Scott Hardy is a veteran educator with over 22 years of teaching experience. He has spent his entire career as a World History, Civics and US History Teacher at Spring Creek High School. As the district’s Teacher of the Year, Mr. Hardy is now competing in the regional level of the North Carolina Teacher of the Year program. He has been named one of two finalists and will be interviewed by a regional selection committee in December as part of the final selection process.

U.S. Presidential Scholar nominees

Each year, high school seniors from across WCPS are nominated and compete to become a U.S. Presidential Scholar. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964. Since that time, the program has honored over 7,600 outstanding high school seniors. This year's nominees include:

Charles B. Ayock High

Lauryn Peten & Clason Peter (CBA Career & Technical Education)

Eastern Wayne High

Aaliyah Hoefer & Carly Hooks (EWH Career & Technical Education)

Goldsboro High

Michael Cruz (WCPS Nominee) & Malik Edwards (GHS Career & Technical Education)

Rosweood High

Chantelle Houston & Kayley Merritt (RHS Career & Technical Education)

Spring Creek High

Victoria Perry & Mintzy Aguilar-Valenzuela (SCH Career & Technical Education)

Southern Wayne High

Jaekwon Ellis & Jonathan Higginbotham (SWH & WCPS Career & Technical Education Nominee)

Wayne Early/Middle College High School

JingXin Chen

WCPS ArtsEd Spotlight: CBA Theatre

Wayne County Public Schools

P.O. Drawer 1797, Goldsboro NC 27533-1797

Facebook: @WayneCountyPS

Twitter: @WayneCountyPS
Instagram: @WayneCountyPS