The Senate

by Amy and Audrey

What is the Senate?

The Senate is one of the two houses of the Australian Commonwealth Parliament.


It consists of 76 (twelve senators from each state, and two each from the Northern Territory and Australian Capital Territory) senators.

What do they do?

The House makes sure that laws passed by the House Of Representatives are agreeable, fair (to all citizens of our country) and will work well. A law must be passed by both chambers before it can be given to the Governor- General to be a law.

What roles do they have?

-The Scrutiny of Legislation

-Pass laws

-Discuss issues

-Decide matters of National Interest

-Represent the interests of people

-Propose, debate and vote on bills and amendments

-Examine issues in committees

and many more roles

What does the Senate consists of ? (parties)





Check out these videos..

Press on the Senate video button once on the website
Big image