Outer Space: A Different World

By Brooke R. & Emma H.

The Eight Planets

"Whoosh, whoosh." Goes the wind as I watch the bright stars shine in the sky. There is a lot of undiscovered things in space, but every day we find new information. There are eight planets in our solar system, each different. Here are the planets in order from closest to the sun to farthest from the sun: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. The inner planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars) are the smallest planets of the eight. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are the outer planets. Jupiter and Saturn are called "gas giants" because they are mostly made of hydrogen and helium, which are gasses. While the "ice giants", Uranus and Neptune are made out of various ices such as ammonia, water, and methane. Between the inner and outer planets, there is a line of asteroids called the Asteroid Belt. The dwarf planet, Pluto used to be a planet. Now let's take a closer look at the luminous bodies, the Asteroid Belt, and the former planet, Pluto.

Fun Facts:

-Jupiter has more than 50 known moons

-A day on Venus is longer than a year on Earth

-1 million Earths can fit in the Sun

-You can cry in space but the tears will never fall

-There are more than a billion stars in space

-All of space is completely silent because there is no atmosphere in space, and nothing can carry the sound

-The Milky Way is not the only solar system

-If you fell into a black hole, you would stretch like spaghetti.





The Jumbo Book of Space by Cynthia Pratt Nicolson, Paulette Bourgeois, and Bill Slavin