CONVAL SCHOOL NURSE NEWSLETTER

May 2021

Welcome to the beautiful month of May!

It's time to think about getting outdoors and enjoying the warm sunshine.

We would like to share some information to help protect you and your family.

TICKS: PREVENT - CHECK - REMOVE

The best way to protect yourself and your family from ticks is to PREVENT them from being on your body by:


  • Wearing tick repellent clothing and shoes
  • Tucking long pants into socks
  • Having long sleeves
  • Using insect repellent,
  • Staying to the center of paths when walking or hiking
https://tickfreenh.org/prevent/

After you come indoors CHECK your body, your child, your pets and clothing for ticks. https://tickfreenh.org/check/


REMOVE any tick you find. If you find a tick on your body, your children, or your pets it is important to remove it immediately. For information on how to safely remove a tick, click here: https://tickfreenh.org/remove/


For more information on tick safety visit https://tickfreenh.org/ and https://tickencounter.org/

Say No to Sunburn & Bug Bites!

  • Parents are reminded to apply sunscreen and/or bug spray at home before arriving to school as our students are able to spend more time outside.
  • Hats and sunglasses are also encouraged as we enjoy more hours of sunshine!

YOUR SCHOOL NURSE IS AVAILABLE TO ANSWER ANY QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS BY PHONE OR BY EMAIL...

Gretchen Shippee, RN ConVal High School Tel: 924-3869 gshippee@conval.edu

Linda Compton, RN Great Brook School Tel: 588-6630 Licompton@conval.edu

Tricia Harris, RN South Meadow School Tel: 924-7105 Pharris@conval.edu

Vicki Mellon, RN Antrim Elementary Tel: 588-6371 Vmellon@conval.edu

Sherree Hodgson, RN Pierce Elementary Tel: 588-2131 Shodgson@conval.edu

Judi Bernardi, RN Dublin Consolidated Tel: 563-8332 Jbernardi@conval.edu

Sherree Hodgson, RN Francestown Elementary Tel: 547-2976 Shodgson@conval.edu

Alaina Slocomb, RN Greenfield Elementary Tel: 547-3334 Aslocomb@conval.edu

Darcie Sherwin, RN Hancock Elementary Tel: 525-3303 Dsherwin@conval.edu

Pam Murphy, RN Peterborough Elementary Tel: 924-3828 Pmurphy@conval.edu

Mitzi Turgeon, RN Temple Elementary Tel: 878-1955 Mturgeon@conval.edu