Life Cycle

There are four stages of a butterfly.The first stage is a egg. They stay in a egg for 1 day for them to hatch. The second stage is caterpillar. They stay at this stage for 4 days. The 3rd stage is pupa. There in that stage from 1-3 weeks. The 4th stage is adult. They mainly live in that stage for 1 month.


A butterfly is a insect so all insects have 3 body parts and 6 legs. One of the three body parts is the head. The head on a butterfly is quiet different from other insects. Most have round and fat heads but butterflies have skinny and round heads so when you see them you think there a mammal but no they are a insect.


A Monarch butterfly lays its egg when it is leaving for the south. Babies stay in a egg for 1 to 2 days. When it pops out its a caterpillar.


A butterfly drinks from flowers but not any flower. They only eat wax plants stems. And neactur.

Interesting facts

  • There are more than 500,000 spices
  • They fly to Mexico & California once
  • They use same tree