Judaism Dietary Laws

Robbie Hodin - A1 Block

Judaism overview

In Judaism, food that is okay to eat (according to jewish law) is called Kashrut. In general, jews abstain from eating (what they call) unclean foods, these include pork, shelfish, and other bottom feeders or insects. Also prohibited under jewish law is the mixing of meat and milk within a certain amount of hours (this can vary depending on how religious a family may be).

On Passover, a very important Jewish holiday, Jews remember their time in Egypt as slaves. They eat various different foods in order the capture the pain of the jews in their early years in Egypt. Each food they eat has a special meaning/connection to the slavery and the 40 years wandering in the desert. Jews do not eat leavened bread during Passover because the Israelites did not have leavened bread during their time in the desert. On Shabbat, Jews eat Challah (basically bread), and make a blessing over wine.

One Sixth of the american Jews fully keep Kosher, however some jews abstain from eating certain non-kosher foods, most commonly pork.

Explanation - Jews get the majority of their dietary laws or Kashrut laws from the book Leviticus in the Torah. The laws are later passed down by word of mouth and made into the Mishnah and Talmud.

Dinner Menu

Appetizer - Challah (jewish bread) with Hummus (made from chickpeas).

Meal - A choice of brisket or Apricot chicken.

Dessert - Double Chocolate fudge brownie (no milk within 6 hours of meat).


Works Cited

"JewishEncyclopedia.com." DIETARY LAWS -. N.p., n.d. Web. 08 Dec. 2014.

"Judaism." Faith in Food. N.p., n.d. Web. 08 Dec. 2014.

"Kosher Appetizers." Allrecipes.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 08 Dec. 2014.