Resources for Remote Learning

Columbia Public Schools

CPS Digital Resources for Elementary

Below is a list of library resources and online databases available to elementary students in Columbia Public Schools through ClassLink.

*ClassLink provides OneClick, single sign-on access to CPS applications such as online textbooks, library research resources, and other digital instructional tools.

Big picture

Digital Reading Resources

Freckle

Freckle is a cross-curricular resource that some classes are using. Students will need a class code to login (from their teacher)

Read, Wonder, Learn

Favorite authors and illustrators share resources for learning anywhere!


This is a library of resources for kids, families, teachers, and librarians to make sure that reading & learning can happen anywhere this spring.

Authors and Illustrators

Many authors and illustrators are helping teachers and parents with remote learning by reading their books and providing videos or by going live in their studios. Check out the links below.


Video Read Alouds: over 20 books to choose from


Kid Lit TV

Read alouds, crafts/activities, videos, and book trailers.


Indianapolis Public Library: 100+ Video Read Alouds


Storytime Read Alouds


Storytime with Bill


Draw Everyday:

Jarrent J. Krosoczka (author of the popular graphic novel series - Lunch Ladies) starting Monday, March 16, will be live from his studio at youtube.com/StudioJJK every single weekday at 2 pm ET (1 pm central) This will be all-ages, so whether your students read Punk Farm, Lunch Lady, or Hey, Kiddo—this will be for everybody. If you can’t watch it live, it will be archived on his YouTube channel afterward. ‬


Stuck at Home:

Oliver Jeffers (author and illustrator)

Starting on Monday, March 16 at 6pm GMT / 2pm EST / 11am PST (1 pm central time)
he will be reading one of his books every weekday, and talking about some of the things that went into making it. They will also be made to view later if you cannot watch it live.

Facebook: @oliverjeffersart


Mac Barnett

Starting Sunday, March 15 at noon pacific (2 pm Central) Mac Barnett will be reading his picture books on Instagram Live.


Ben Clanton (Narwall and Jelly)Want to draw with me and talk about waffles and mermicorns? I'm doing two FB LIVE sessions this next week.

March 18th at 11 am PST (2 pm EST)
https://www.facebook.com/events/190785292224208/

March 20th at 2 pm PST (5 PM EST)
https://www.facebook.com/events/1856341974500700/

Scholastic Learn at Home

Keep the learning going with these special cross-curricular journeys. Every day includes four separate learning experiences, each built around a thrilling, meaningful story or video. Kids can do them on their own, with their families, or with their teachers. Just find your grade level and let the learning begin!

PreK - K

Grades 1 and 2

Grades 3-5

Grades 6+

CPS Math Resources

ST Math

Turn on Homework for Content already taught or additional content so students can work on this at home.

Everyday Math Games

Students can access Everyday Math Games via Class Link (CPS Portal)

Reading and Math Resources

Writing/Story Making Resources

Science Resources

Mystery Science

Most popular Science Units by Grade Level free to use for Teachers and Parents.

There are 5-6 lessons available for each grade level K-6

Art Resources

Music Resources

Sing Along with Emily Arrow

Monday through Friday, I’ll be hosting daily online learning, music, and stories! Every day at 1pm EST/10am PST on @youtube I’ll prepare a lesson from my studio to bring music and mindfulness from my home to yours.

Emily Arrow on You Tube

Computer Science Resources

Maker/Design and Brain Break Resources

PE Resources

Little Twisters Yoga and Emotional Wellness

IN ORDER TO PUT A LITTLE LOVE INTO THE WORLD DURING THE SCHOOL AND ACTIVITY CLOSURES DUE TO CORONAVIRUS COVID-19, I HAVE SET ALL PRODUCTS AT A 100% DISCOUNT (ie free!!!!!!). SIMPLY ADD WHICH LESSONS YOU WOULD LIKE TO YOUR CART, AND THE FOLLOW THE PROMPTS FOR THE FREE CHECK OUT. SHARE SOME HEALTHY MOVEMENT AND EMOTIONAL WELLNESS SESSIONS WITH YOUR LITTLES, ON ME. STAY HEALTHY!
Big picture

Breakout EDU

In the event that your school is closed for an extended period of time as a result of recent events we’ve put together a collection of digital games that students can play at home. Students can click on any game and start playing!
Big picture

Podcasts for Kids

  • Wow in the World 😄

www.npr.org/podcasts/510321/wow-in-the-world

  • But Why: A Podcast for Curious Kids by Vermont Public Radio 😄

www.npr.org/podcasts/474377890/but-why-a-podcast-for-curious-kids

  • Short and Curly 😄

www.abc.net.au/radio/programs/shortandcurly/

  • Tumble Science Podcast for Kids 😄

http://www.sciencepodcastforkids.com/

  • The Radio Adventures of Eleanor Amplified 😄

whyy.org/programs/eleanor-amplified/

  • Brain’s On 😄

www.brainson.org/

Non-Screen Time Ideas

Example Schedules for Families