PIERCE MIDDLE SCHOOL

Family Update - August 26, 2021

Welcome to the 2021-2022 School Year!

Dear Pierce Families,


We are very excited to welcome students back to school next week! While health and wellness remain our priority, and managing the Covid pandemic continues to be a reality, we are looking forward to the new year with a renewed sense of excitement and focus on supporting students to grow and thrive academically, socially, and emotionally.


As we prepare to open school, I write to you to share some information and updates about what you and your child can expect in the coming days and weeks. Below please find information to help facilitate a smooth start to the new school year.


Sincerely,


William Fish, Ed.D.

Principal

Team Assignments

Students’ team assignments for the 2021-2022 school year will be emailed home by the end of this week.

Pierce Suggested School Supply List

This list is meant to provide families with some direction around purchasing school supplies. Students are not required to buy supplies, but we realize that it can be helpful for families to have some guidance and suggestions.
Big picture

Summer Reading Reminder

The details of Pierce’s summer reading program are here. Students are welcome to read whatever books they would like, but we hope that the list of titles included in the link provides students and families with some ideas and direction for reading in the summer months. Please note that students will need to be logged in to their Milton Public Schools Google account to access the assignment links.

MPS COVID-19 Safety Strategies

Please click here for a message from Superintendent Jette regarding the district's face covering policy and other COVID-19 safety strategies.

Technology & Chromebook Information/Resources


MPS educational technology director AJ Melanson shares information here regarding technology resources, MPS’s Chromebook loan agreement, and device insurance.

Pierce Volleyball Team

Any grade 8 female student interested in trying out for the Pierce volleyball team should join the team Google Classroom (code: 5uv3jgk) and read through the documents carefully. All paperwork needs to be submitted by September 7th in order to participate in tryouts.

Student Drop Off & Pick Up

Every day we will have nearly 1,000 students arriving and departing during a 15 or 20 minute window of time each day, it is crucial that drivers proceed with an abundance of caution around the Pierce campus. The following procedures are in place to promote student and pedestrian safety:


  • Left hand turns are NOT allowed from Brook Road into the Pierce Middle School parking lot during peak drop off and pick up times. Cars should approach from the opposite direction and make a right into the parking lot.

  • NO drop offs or pick-ups should take place on Brook Road between Lincoln Street and the Pierce Middle School front driveway. In addition, NO drop offs or pick-ups at the mouth of the driveway.

  • NO drop offs or pick-ups on Clapp Street OR Central Avenue.


Cars will be directed to pull ALL the way up in both lanes, as directed by staff.

Family Resources

The Office of the Family Outreach Liaison is open during the summer months. Please reach out to Marti O’Keefe McKenna, Family Outreach Liaison, 617-980-7343 or mmckenna@miltonps.org with any questions you might have about MPS/community summer programs, summer reading, the upcoming school year or if you are in need of a resource. All calls and emails are confidential. All updates on Family Resources – food, heating assistance, health insurance, financial assistance, contacts – can be found at this link.

From the Milton Public Library

Tyler Vachon, young adult librarian, at the Milton Public Library has shared some information and resources here for Pierce families.

School Hours

Pierce's school day is 7:55 a.m.-2:26 p.m.

Helpful Contacts

Dr. William Fish, Principal, wfish@miltonps.org

Ms. Janice Mazzola, Assistant Principal, jmazzola@miltonps.org

Ms. Kaitlin Gass, Assistant Principal, kgass@miltonps.org

Mrs. Erica Benjamin, Grade 6 Guidance Counselor, ebenjamin@miltonps.org

Mrs. Erin Jaquette, Grade 7 Guidance Counselor, ejaquette@miltonps.org

Mrs. Lisa Veldran, Grade 8 Guidance Counselor, lveldran@miltonps.org

Mrs. Myriam Francoeur, School Adjustment Counselor, mfrancoeur@miltonps.org

Mrs. Tracy Grandeau, Special Education Team Chair, tgrandeau@miltonps.org

Dr. Suzanne Shaw, Special Education Team Chair, sshaw@miltonps.org

MPS Calendar

Click here for the 2021-2022 district calendar.