10th Annual Breaking Barriers

Honoring Asian American Women Pioneers

The Breaking Barriers awards are presented annually to Asian and Asian American women leaders in the metropolitan Chicago area who have made an outstanding and lasting impact in their fields. All event proceeds will benefit the Asian American Leadership Council's Silk Fund.

10th Annual Breaking Barriers: Honoring Asian American Women Pioneers

Tuesday, May 7th, 6-8pm

Sunda New Asian restaurant, 110 W. Illinois, Chicago

Join us for wine and hors d’oeuvres to celebrate these outstanding women!

Early bird rate: $65/ticket or $225/package of four tickets (purchase by April 20th)

Regular rate: $75/ticket (purchase April 20th-May 1st)

After May 1st: $85/ticket

Visit the CFW web site for more information or to purchase tickets.

This year marks the 10th Anniversary for this event, which was the first of its kind in the country! To celebrate our 10-year milestone, this year’s theme honors Asian and Asian American women who have been pioneers in whatever field they have chosen. We are pleased to recognize women across a variety of disciplines and professions who have been “the first” or among the earliest to have achieved a level of leadership and visibility that has paved the way for others.

This year's honorees

Shradha Agarwal, Co-Founder and CEO, Context Media Inc.

Libby Chiu, Senior Advisor for Learning Initiatives, Illinois Arts Council

Madhuvanti Ghose, Alsdorf Associate Curator of Indian, Southeast Asian, Himalayan and Islamic Art, Art Institute of Chicago

Ngoan Le, Vice President of Program, Chicago Community Trust

Tuyet Le, Executive Director, Asian American Institute

Josina Morita, Executive Coordinator, United Congress of Community and Religious Organizations

Prem Sharma, Founder, Apna Ghar

Joanna Su, Community Systems & Capacity Building Manager, Governor's Office of Early Childhood Development

Liz Thomson, Assistant Director, UIC Gender and Sexuality Center

Lisa Yun Lee, Director of Art and Art History, Art & Art History Department, University of Chicago at Illinois

Dr. Aparna Sharma (posthumously) - A dedicated and passionate leader with a gift for inspiring people, creating community and affecting change, we remember Aparna Sharma as a fierce advocate for immigrant and women's rights who cared deeply about and worked tireless to achieve equity for all. Dr. Sharma passed away on February 9, 2013.

Host committee members

Anu Aggrawal
Sabina Ahmed
Monika Collins
Mae Hong
Grace Hou
Sandhya Krishnan
Nima Krodel
Anjali Mehta
Kelsey Mesher
Kaberi Banerjee Murthy
Munira Patel
Sharmila Rao Thakkar
Clarita Santos
Vibha Singh
Angela Vasandani

Thanks to our exclusive event sponsor