WST Weekly Update

November 22 - November 26, 2021

From the Director

Hello, WST families and friends,


Each morning, after the pledge of allegiance, we typically also share a quote for the day. In the spirit of this practice, I would like to share a quote with you. "Thankfulness is the beginning of gratitude. Gratitude is the completion of thankfulness. Thankfulness may consist merely of words. Gratitude is shown in acts" Henri Frederic Amiel.


I am thankful that we are able to be in person daily with students in the classroom. I am grateful that your students attend daily and are engaged in learning in the classroom. For educators the past year and a half has been truly challenging, and we are so grateful at WST to have our students engaged in hands-on work daily preparing for their future.


I wish everyone a season full of gratitude and joy. May your time with family and friends, no matter the size of the gathering, warm your hearts and fill your gratitude cup. Please stay safe and stay healthy!



Important Schedule Updates and Information

Wednesday, November 24: This is a half day only for WST, there is no afternoon session.


Wednesday, December 1 and Thursday, December 2: WST staff are at professional development training together during this time and students will have asynchronous learning to complete for class. Please make sure your student checks their WST Google Classroom or Canvas Classroom for more information on assignment expectations.


Friday, December 3: This is a NON-STUDENT day at WST, students do not have classes at WST.


December 18 - January 2: WST Winter break. The last day of class before break is December 17 and we return January 3, 2022.

WST Student Handbook Updates and Reminders

A few reminders from the WST student handbook:


Student drivers:

Driving to WST is a privilege and it is important that students adhere to all rules and expectations while on campus. Students must have a WST parking pass (it's FREE, just complete the documentation) and display it on the front drivers side window of their vehicle. The pass is a cling so it does not leave any residue.


Drivers are expected to park their vehicle and come into the building, not hang out in their cars with friends. Over the last few weeks, several students have been late to class, not because they were late to campus, but because they were hanging out in their vehicles. Please remind your students to enter the building upon getting to WST.


Absences:

When your student will be absent there is a two-prong approach to attendance.


1. Please have your student directly contact their instructor. WST strives to mimic workplace practice and want students to practice the skill of contacting their supervisor (in this case, their instructor), to report their absence.


2. Parents or guardians must follow up with a phone call, email, or note to the registrar (Erin Mckiernan, erin.mckiernan@westsoundtech.org) notifying the registrar of the official reason for the absence. This is a requirement per the state of Washington.


Parents, each month, a report will be sent home notifying you of any absences your child may have that are not excused. Please contact the registrar to clear any unexcused absences.

Progress Reports Happening Soon

Check in with your son or daughter and see how they are performing in their WST classes. The next progress reporting day is Friday, December 3. If you do not have access to your student's WST Skyward account, please contact Erin Mckiernan, erin.mckiernan@westsoundtech.org, for more information.

ASB News and Events

Thank you to all that donated to the Stand Up for Kids Hygiene drive, WST brought in 542 much needed toiletries for the homeless youth in our community. Overall, 425 hygiene packs were put together and donated to support our homeless youth.

Kidzz Helping Kidzz Toy Drive

The WST ASB voted to support Kidzz Helping Kidzz Toy Drive to support hospitalized children during the holidays. Students should be gathering new, unwrapped toys to donate to children that are stuck in the hospital during the holidays.


Kidzz Helping Kidzz started as the vision of young Zachary. The mission is to give hope and joy to help heal children in their time of need. "We hope to inspire others to create a culture of kindness and mutual support in communities." Kidzz Helping Kidzz is an all-volunteer, IRS tax-exempt 501(c)(3) charitable nonprofit organization.


Please help your child support Kidzz Helping Kidzz by donating toys that can be provided to children in hospitals in our community. Students may donate toys from now until December 16.

Gifts for Children in the Hospital - Kidzz Helping Kidzz Toy Donation Recipient

Apple Cup!

Wear your Apple Cup Colors on Wednesday in honor of the annual apple cup tradition. While the Apple Cup happens on the Friday after Thanksgiving, students and staff can show their apple cup pride on Wednesday, wearing their favorite teams colors to school.

This year's event is slated to be at the University of Washington Husky Stadium with kick-off beginning at 5:00 pm.

Whether your chant is Go Cougs or Go Dogs, wishing your team a fun, energetic, and lively game!

Contact Information for WST Staff

WST Teaching Staff:

Bockelie, Eric |Criminal Justice | Eric.Bockelie@westsoundtech.org


Colburn, Janine | Culinary Arts | Janine.colburn@westsoundtech.org


Erickson, Eric | Construction Careers | Eric.erickson@westsoundtech.org


Hanson, Billie | Cosmetology | Billie.hanson@westsoundtech.org


Horan, Karen | Cosmetology | Karen.horan@westsoundtech.org


Kovacs, Bela | Welding | Bela.kovacs@westsoundtech.org


Rain, Nils | Fire Science | Nils.rain@westsoundtech.org


Rogers, Jeff | Criminal Justice | Jeffrey.Rogers@westsoundtech.org


Sharpe, Tony | 3D Animation & Gaming | Tony.sharpe@westsoundtech.org


Snyder, Luke | Automotive Tech | Lucas.snyder@westsoundtech.org


Watson, Kelley | Maritime Operations | kwatson@ptschools.org


Witherow, Susan | Esthetics | Susan.witherow@westsoundtech.org


Young, David | Professional Medical Careers | David.young@westsoundtech.org


Zawlocki, Nate | Collision Repair | Technology | Nathanial.zawlocki@westsoundtech.org


West Sound Tech Office and Support Staff


Main Office 360-473-0550 (Phone) 360-478-5090 (Fax)


Director/Principal | Shani Watkins | Shani.watkins@westsoundtech.org


Student Outreach Coordinator | Nora Zollweg | Nora.zollweg@westsoundtech.org


Administrative Office Assistant | Loretta Robinett | Loretta.robinett@westsoundtech.org


Budget Tech | Deanna Bruce | Deanna.bruce@westsoundtech.org


Registrar & ** Attendance | Erin Mckiernan | Erin.mckiernan@westsoundtech.org


Clerical Assistant | Lorilei Siemens | Lorilei.siemens@westsoundtech.org


Paraprofessional | Peanut Foster | Andrea.foster@westsoundtech.org

West Sound Technical Skills Center

Mission: The mission of West Sound Technical Skills Center is to ensure that all students are prepared for life, career, and college through industry-based, technically rigorous programs.

Vision: To prepare every West Sound Technical Skills Center graduate to be career and college ready, enter the global workforce, and be a successful and contributing citizen through innovative and flexible program opportunities.

Big picture