Haywood County

North Carolina

Haywood History

Formed by European Americans in 1808, Haywood County received it's name from John Haywood, who served as the North Carolina State Treasurer from 1787 to 1827. in 1828 the western part of the county became Macon County, then in 1851 parts of Haywood and Macon came together to form Jackson County. On May 9, 1865, the last shot of the civil war east of the Mississippi was fired in Waynesville. A monument is situated on Sulphur Springs Road in Waynesville.
Big image

County Parts:

Haywood County is located in the mountain region of North Carolina. The largest city is Waynesville, which is also the county seat. Haywood County is part of Asheville, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Points of Interest

There are many places to visit & things to do in Haywood County!
  • Great Smokey Mountains National Park
  • Ghost Town Village
  • Roaring Fork Falls
  • Maggie Valley
  • & Lake Junaluska

Law & Government

Waynesville covers the title of largest city and county seat for Haywood County. Haywood is part of Asheville
Get to Haywood County NC!