The history of the Texas Rangers

Preston Colburn - 1

Nolan Ryan

June 11, 1990, Nolan Ryan pitches his sixth career no-hitter shutout over the A's. Nine years later July 25, 1999 Nolan Ryan inducted into the national baseball hall of fame in Cooperstown, N.Y. Nolan Ryan had 5,000 career strikeouts.

Texas Rangers Organization

The Texas Rangers ballpark has 49,000 seats in it. November 6, 2006 Ron Washington named manager of the Texas Rangers. Nolan Ryan returned to the Texas Rangers as club president.


In 1973, Rangers outfielder Jeff Burroughs blasted 3 grand slams within a 10 day span. Dave Nelson stole 2nd, 3rd, and home in one game in 1974. Texas third baseman Buddy Bell in the All Star game every year from 1980 to 1984.


Alex Rodriguez signs a 10-year $252 contract with the Texas Rangers at the age of 25. November 18 Ivan Rodriguez wins the most valuable player award. In 1977 game, infielders Toby Harrah and Bump Wills hit back to back inside the park home runs.