MGM 8th Grade House News

November 30, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th-grade house highlights. These newsletters will be emailed every Friday.

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Take a Stand Expedition

Our expedition in 8th grade, Take a Stand, has officially begun with our kick off - a flash mob led by our 8th-grade teachers, the viewing and debriefing of the movie, Hidden Figures, and a morning of community experts. Our students will be asked to Take a Stand and bring about action to an individual passion. We are very proud of the work that has taken place thus far. Our students will explore two guiding questions throughout the next couple of months. They are:

1. Why take a stand?

2. How do I, others, and organizations take a stand?

Musical Theatre Production of Guys and Dolls Jr

Join MGM Musical Theatre 7th and 8th grade casts for a dice rolling good time this week as they present the musical "Guys and Dolls JR." See what Nathan, Adelaide, Sky and Sarah and the amazing cast are up to as they try travel from the heart of Times Square to Havana and back.


8th grade cast performs on Thursday and Friday night at 6:30pm and 7th grade roars to the stage on Saturday at 4pm and 6:30pm. Tickets are available at the door for $7 and kids under 5 are free.


See you there!

MGM Counseling Department - Follow us on Twitter: @mgmcounseling

MGM PTO NEWS

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.



See upcoming PTO dates:

* Ongoing - keep saving your used ink and toner cartridges


Dec 5 - Collaborative Planning Day - Dismiss at 12:40

Dec 7 - Krispy Kreme car line sale 7am

Dec 7 - PTO Meeting 8am (following car line sale)

Dec 11 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 12 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 13 - Merchandise Sale during lunches

Dec 14- Merchandise sale during lunches

Dec 21- Half Day


Dec 24 - Jan 4 - Winter Break

Big picture
Big picture

Book Club December 11th 3:30-4:30

Big picture

Relay for Life - Fill a Water Bottle

Did you know that a water bottle filled with dimes equals about $100?

Can you imagine the impact we could have as a school if EVERY CREW could fill a water bottle for Relay for Life?


Bring your dimes to CREW and fill up a water bottle for Relay for Life.

Big picture

Save the Date - 9th Grade Course Selection

Save the Date!


Rising 9th Grade Course Selection Night @ MGM

Tuesday, January 15. 2019 @ 6:00 pm

Encore News

Don't forget your 2018-2019 yearbook! The price will go up soon. Please go to jostensyearbooks.com to order yours today.


Week of Dec 3rd

8th grade iCivics-summative on Elections, Monday 12/3

7th grade iCivics-summative on Elections, Friday 12/7

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Check Schoology for updates


ENGLISH I: Check Schoology for updates


PRE-ALGEBRA: Slope-intercept form quiz on Tuesday


ALGEBRA I: 6.1-6.3 quiz on Friday

Case Study Due (Summative Grade)-Friday


GEOMETRY: Triangle Theorems Quiz on Monday

Triangle Mid-Chapter Assessment on Thursday


SCIENCE : Test Tuesday (Space Tools and Technology, Universe and Galaxies, StarsO


SOCIAL STUDIES: Research for Take A Stand Debate is due at the end of class on Tuesday 12/4 (Formative Grade)

Take A Stand Debates (Summative Grade) are Tuesday 12/11, Wednesday 12/12, and Thursday 12/13.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the link to view assessments.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration:

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net

House Leader

Ashley Holmes aholmes@lexington1.net


8th Grade Core Teachers

Please see the attached information for 8th grade core teachers. Each content area also provided tips for success in these classes.


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontens-Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Hilda Duarte - hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We look forward to a great school year!