Colony HS Daily Bulletin

"Excellence for All"

Big picture

The Mission of

Colony High School.

Is to inspire academic achievement and personal growth in all our students so that they will successfully participate as active and responsible citizens in our ever-changing world.

Colony Daily News

This week is B week periods 4, 5, & 6


National Honor Society candidates, Wednesday is the deadline for your completed application to be turned into Mrs. Bunch.


Seniors: We want to spotlight YOU on our senior bulletin board across from the UPBEAT CAFE! Please provide a quick profile of any accomplishments or interests from your time at Colony, what your future plans are, and a picture. Please get your information to Mrs. Crockett in the front office.


Do you drive to school?

All students must have a parking permit to park in the school parking lot. Parking permit forms are available in the front office.


20/21 Yearbooks are for sale on-line through Walsworth at YEAR BOOK FOREVER.com


The federally funded free lunch program has been extended until the end of the school year.

All students can continue to get free breakfast & lunch every day 🙂.

We are also still offering the take-home dinners after school every day.


The GREEN & YELLOW cans around the school are for recycling only, Not TRASH.

The bins are labeled for cardboard or paper only


Interested in doing NYO? The Native Youth Olympics are starting on Monday, Feb. 22nd. With events like the salmon pull, wrist carry, and the one-foot high kick, there’s something for everyone! Come to Mr. Hansen’s room, #1072, for more information.


Esports is accepting interested players until Tuesday, February 23. Please contact Mrs. Duffy with any questions.



2020-2021 SAT Test Dates Registration Date

August 28th July 31st

September 26th August 26th

October 2nd September 4th

November 6th October 7th

December 4th November 5th

March 12th February 12th

May 7th April 8th

June 4th May 6th



2020-2021 ACT Test Dates

Test Date Registration Deadline

Sept 12th August 14th

Oct 10th Sept 17th

Dec 12th Nov 6th

Feb 6th Jan 8th

April 17th March 12th

June 12th May 7th

July 17th June 18th



SAT Test will be offered at Colony High School. Register online at collegeboard.org. If you think you qualify for accommodations, apply when you register. SAT will contact the Accommodations Supervisor who will apply for the accommodations. Accommodations are considered if you have an IEP, 504 Plan, are on insulin, etc. Check the website.


ACT Test will be offered at Colony High School. First date is. Register online at act.org. If you think you qualify for accommodations, apply when you register. SAT will contact the Accommodations Supervisor who will apply for the accommodations. Accommodations are considered if you have an IEP, 504 Plan, are on insulin, etc. Check the website.

This Week at Colony

GO KNIGHTS!!


Tuesday- 2/16

  • C Team Boys vs. Wasilla at 3pm
  • Varsity Hockey @ Wasilla (Brett)- 6:15pm
  • GBB JV/V @ Wasilla at 3 & 5

Wednesday- 2/16

  • JV/V Girls and Boys Basketball vs Palmer at 2,4,6,8
    • Senior Night in between girls and boy's varsity games
    • HOCO presentation during halftime of boys game

Friday- 2/19

  • JV/V Girls and Boys Basketball vs Wasilla at 2,4,6,8
  • Nordic Ski Region Meet at GPRA

Saturday- 2/20

  • JV/V Girls and Boys Basketball vs ACS at 12,2,4,6
  • Varsity Hockey vs Wasilla (Menard) at 6:15
  • Nordic Ski Region Meet at GPRA



Monday- 2/22

Tuesday- 2/23

Wednesday- 2/24

Thursday- 2/25

  • Railbelt Hockey Tournament- Colony vs. West Valley- 11:15pm
  • Nordic Ski State Meet at GPRA
  • BasketBall in Fairbanks

Friday- 2/26

  • Railbelt Hockey Tournament- Colony vs. Wasilla- 6:15pm
  • Nordic Ski State Meet at GPRA (Looney)
  • BasketBall in Fairbanks

Saturday- 2/27

  • Railbelt Hockey Tournament- Colony vs. Lathrop- 2:15pm
  • Nordic Ski State Meet at GPRA
  • BasketBall in Fairbanks

Please remember that Hockey will be livestreamed on our CHS website.







If you are a junior and interested in attending the United States Naval Academy, the application for Summer Seminar is now available and open at USNA.edu. The Naval Academy is ranked as the number one public university by Forbes for 2017 and acceptance to Summer Seminar is highly competitive. Be sure to apply early and see counseling if you have any questions. Additionally, applications for STEM camp are also available and open at USNA.edu for freshmen and sophomores.


The Military and Family Life Counselor is available at Colony High School for all students with Parents or other immediate family-members that are in the military. To schedule an appointment, call 907-440-8277.



Scholarships

Scholarships arriving daily  Most recent ~ Society of Petroleum Engineers Scholarship. Information in Counseling for most scholarships or check the District website daily 

Seniors

Attention Seniors:


Graduation is Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. at the Menard Sports Center. Students will need to attend mandatory graduation practice the morning of the 13th.


If you have questions about graduation, please call or email Graduation Coordinator Mrs. Haase in the Library at Stephanie.Haase@matsuk12.us

907-861-5538




Attention Seniors:

All Senior Pictures are due December 1st to the Yearbook Staff. You can submit your Senior To order a yearbook, please go to the Walsworth site, https://yearbookforever.com/


You can purchase directly from the site, as well as upload Senior photos (Due December 1), purchase a Senior Recognition Ad (Due February 28), and upload photos of School Evenets that you attend or participate in through the Community Upload Link. Use the code: knights


Honor your senior by purchasing a Senior ad! Full and half pages are available. Go to https://ybpay.lifetouch.com/Order/SelectTask to purchase your Senior's page!

Attention Seniors:

All Senior Quotes are due by .

You can submit your Senior Quote by email at colonyhighyearbook@gmail.com or by bringing in a hardcopy of your quote to Room 0012.

Quotes: Please make sure your quote is accurate and appropriate. Also include your name with this information.

Attention Parents|Guardians|All Students:

Purchase a yearbook for $65.

Or, you can search by school name, city and state at

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Susan.Brunner@matsuk12.us.

Summer Opportunity

For a complete list of scholarship info go to http://www.matsuk12.us/Page/25271. Additional scholarships also available at http://www.matsuk12.us/Page/20286.


Mat-Su Borough School District is planning to hire 30 students ages 16 and up to work with our Operations & Maintenance Department over the course of the summer. Interested students should apply online through the MSBSD website no later than 4:30pm on April 12, 2018. Wages are $10 per hour and there is potential to also earn elective credit.

Yearbooks

Attention Seniors:


All Senior Pictures are due December 1st to the Yearbook Staff. You can submit your Senior To order a yearbook, please go to the Walsworth site, https://yearbookforever.com/


You can purchase directly from the site, as well as upload Senior photos (Due December 1), purchase a Senior Recognition Ad (Due February 28), and upload photos of School Evenets that you attend or participate in through the Community Upload Link. Use the code: knights



Honor your senior by purchasing a Senior ad! Full and half pages are available. Go to https://ybpay.lifetouch.com/Order/SelectTask to purchase your Senior's page!


Attention Seniors:

All Senior Quotes are due by .


You can submit your Senior Quote by email at colonyhighyearbook@gmail.com or by bringing in a hardcopy of your quote to Room 0012.


Quotes: Please make sure your quote is accurate and appropriate. Also include your name with this information.



If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Susan.Brunner@matsuk12.us.

Clubs

List of Clubs & Activities 2020-2021


Actvitiy - Advisor/Coach Email


Band Jamin Burton jamin.burton@matsuk12.us

Baseball JV-Varsity Jordan Chadwell jordan.chadwell@matsk12.us

Basketball Boys C-JV-Varsity Tom Berg thomas.berg@matsuk12.us

Basketball Girls C-JV-Varsity Jeff Bowker jeff.bowker.ak@gmail.com

Battle of the Books Stephanie Haase stephanie.haase@matsuk12.us

BB Cheerleading JV-Varsity Chris Hebert chris.hebert@matsuk12.us

Choir Kelly Rentz kelly.rentz@matsuk12.us

Close Up Tom Berg thomas.berg@matsuk12.us

Brian McIntosh brian.mcintosh@matsuk12.us

XC Running Boys Norm Rousey coachrousey@hotmail.com

XC Running Girls Rhonda Knopp rhonda.knopp@matsuk12.us

Dance Sabrina Johns sabrina.johns@matsuk12.us

Drama Kelly Rentz kelly.rentz@matsuk12.us

Brian Mead brian.mead@matsuk12.us

E-Sports Christine Duffy christine.duffy@matsuk12.us

FB Cheerleading JV-Varsity Jasmine McEwen colonycheer@gmail.com

Football C-JV-Varsity Robbie Nash rnash@mtasolutions.com

Freshman Class Katrina Nilson katrina.nilson@matsuk12.us

Brian McIntosh brian.mcintosh@matsuk12.us

Gay/Straight Alliance (GSA) Jamie Neel Jamie.neel@matsuk12.us

Pat O'Neal Pat.oneal@matsuk12.us

Girls Who Code Traci Sanders sanders.sanders@matsuk12.us

Hockey JV-Varsity Chris Yaskus cyaskus@hotmail.com

Interact Rotary Amanda Cabo-Settle amanda.cabo-settle@matsuk12.us

JROTC Derek Heavener derek.heavener.matsuk12.us

Anthony Petroccia anthony.petroccia@matsuk12.us

Junior Class Sonya Crockett sonya.crockett@matsuk12.us

Kali Boyer kali.boyer@matsuk12.us

Key Club Sara Collison sara.collison@matsuk12.us

Leadership Brian McIntosh mcintosh.mcintosh@matsuk12.us

Marching Band Jamin Burton jamin.burton@matsuk12.us

M. Band Color Guard Kelly Rentz kelly.rentz@matsuk12.us

Nat. Honor Society Lesley Bunch lesley.bunch@matsuk12.us

Nordic Ski / X-Ski boys Mark Strabel mark.strabel@matsuk12.us

Nordic Ski / X-Ski girls David Knopp David.knopp@matsuk12.us

NYO Keith Shepard keithshepard14@yahoo.com

Partners Club Bekki Grinnell bekki.grinnell@matsuk12.us

Pep Band Jamin Burton jamin.burton@matsuk12.us

Poetry Out Loud Trevor Townsend trevor.townsend@matsuk12.us

Competitive Robotics Brian Mead brian.mead@matsuk12.us

Science Olympiad Traci Sanders traci.sanders@matsuk12.us

Joe Simpkins joesph.simkins@matsuk12.us

Senior Class Tom Berg thomas.berg@matsuk12.us

Kristy Johnston kristy.johnston@matsuk12.us

Shooting Team Christine Crump christine.crump@matsuk12.us

Sign Language Kathy Cappa kathy.cappa@matsuk12.us

Skills USA Kelly/Lord/ Trotter ashley.kelly@matsuk12.us

Soccer Boys JV-Varsity Jeremy Johnson jerjohnsozzy@hotmail.com

Soccer Girls JV-Varsity Jeremy Johnson jeremy.johnson@matsuk12.us

Softball Tamara Finley colonyknightssoftball@gmail.com

Sophomore Class Sabrina Johns sabrina.johns@matsuk12.us

Julie Case julie.case@matsuk12.us

Spanish Club Aaron Mitchell aaron.mitchell@matsuk12.us

Student Govt. Shannon Guinn shannon.guinn@matsuk12.us

Swim & Dive Patrick Penoyer patrick.penoyar@matsuk12.us

Emily Worley emily.worley@matsuk12.us

Tennis Susan Brunner susan.brunner@matsuk12.us

Track Boys Charlie Yoder chasyoda@hotmail.com

Track Girls Zoey Whittington xauddinaw@gmail.com

Volleyball C-JV-Varsity Steve Reynolds chsvbg1920@gmail.com

Wrestling JV-Varsity Todd Hopkins todd.hopkins@matsuk12.us

Yearbook Susan Brunner susan.brunner@matsuk12.us

CHS Athletics

HOW TO REGISTER FOR ACTIVITIES AT COLONY HIGH SCHOOL

NEW TO COLONY ATHLETICS:

  1. Create a parent and student account on www.PlanetHS.com (link accounts)
  2. Must have a current Physical (upload to Planet HS)- good for 18 months
  3. Take a Baseline IMPACT Concussion Test (see below for dates/time/location)
  4. Pay Sports Fee ($200)- MSBSD Website- Schoolcash Online -$200 for the 1st and 2nd sport, $100 for 3rd, and $500 cap per student per year

RETURNING TO COLONY ATHLETICS:

  1. Update your parent and student accounts on PlanetHS.
  2. Upload physical (if needed) on PlanetHS
  3. Pay Sports Fee ($200)- MSBSD Website- Schoolcash Online -$200 for the 1st and 2nd sport, $100 for 3rd, and $500 cap per student per year

Baseline IMPACT Concussion Test Dates/Times/Locations:

All students are required to take an Baseline IMPACT Concussion test once in their high school career.

This test is a timed test and will begin promptly at the start time.

College Visits:

See counselors in the Counseling Office to pick-up mini flyers for upcoming University Visits, upcoming ASVAB/PSAT/SAT/ACT information, Tutor Request Forms, and any questions about I-Student.

Scholarship and Financial Aid Information

Colony High website: https://www.matsuk12.us/Page/20286

District website: https://www.matsuk12.us/Page/25271


UAA is offering “Academic Insights” to help juniors and seniors learn more about their programs. Students can tour their campus, learn about majors and meet program faculty. Events are held evenings and weekends. Upcoming events are scheduled for the College of Business and Public Policy, Community and Technical College, and the College of Health. More information is available at https://www.uaa.alaska.edu/admissions/academic-insights.cshtml.


The Alaska School Counselor Association (AkSCA) Scholarships

For online application process and directions, visit the AkSCA website.

More information about the scholarship along with the application information is found here: Mahin and Saifulla Salemy High School Scientific Scholarship


Scholarships arriving daily Most recent ~ Society of Petroleum Engineers Scholarship. Information in Counseling for most scholarships or check the District website daily J


AK Native Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship


AK Peace Officers Association (APOA) Scholarship


Beta Sigma Phi Scholarship


The American Indian College Fund offer two scholarship programs, TCU and Full Circle scholarships, each with their own deadlines and requirements. Please review the Scholarship Programs page to determine the program(s) to which you are applying. In some cases, a student may be eligible to apply for both. For more info, please go to http://collegefund.org/student-resources/scholarships/how-to-apply/.



The JJ Klein Scholarship supports Alaskan high school graduates pursuing post-secondary education; however, with a unique caveat. Preference will be given to applicants with a GPA from 2.0 to 3.2; those with GPAs above 3.5 will not be considered. Applicants must have demonstrated financial need. The JJ Klein scholarship will provide a one-time award of up to $10,000. JJ Klein Scholarship Deadline: April 26, 2018 at 5pm AKST.

FAFSA information

Testing

2020-2021 SAT Test Dates Registration Date

August 28th July 31st

September 26th August 26th

October 2nd September 4th

November 6th October 7th

December 4th November 5th

March 12th February 12th

May 7th April 8th

June 4th May 6th

2020-2021 ACT Test Dates

Test Date Registration Deadline

Sept 12th August 14th

Oct 10th Sept 17th

Dec 12th Nov 6th

Feb 6th Jan 8th

April 17th March 12th

June 12th May 7th

July 17th June 18th

SAT Test will be offered at Colony High School. Register online at collegeboard.org. If you think you qualify for accommodations, apply when you register. SAT will contact the Accommodations Supervisor who will apply for the accommodations. Accommodations are considered if you have an IEP, 504 Plan, are on insulin, etc. Check the website.

ACT Test will be offered at Colony High School. First date is. Register online at act.org. If you think you qualify for accommodations, apply when you register. SAT will contact the Accommodations Supervisor who will apply for the accommodations. Accommodations are considered if you have an IEP, 504 Plan, are on insulin, etc. Check the website.

Colony HS Program of Studies

Community Feedback Survey Forms

Please visit http://www.matsuk12.us/domain/5312 for student, parent, and staff surveys.

Colony High School Report Card

Parents,

As a requirement of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, states and school districts must issue annual report cards to parents. The purpose of the report card is to provide parents with information about the district and their child’s school in terms of teacher qualifications, academic achievement, and school/district accountability. To access the report cards, please visit the following link at:

http://www.matsuk12.us/cms/lib/AK01000953/Centricity/domain/100/compliance/CHS_REPORTCARDX.pdf

If you would like a written copy of your school’s report card, please contact: Kama Petty at 907-861-5576.

Facebook Colony High School, Palmer Alaska

Parents and Guardian:


Feel free to join our Colony High School Facebook page. We will be posting our CHS Daily Bulletin, upcoming events, and some of the results of all of the great things happening at CHS. Thank you again for your continued support. I hope all is well . . . Go KNIGHTS!!!


Brendon McMahon (principal)

CHS Weather Station

Parents, Students, and Families—ever wish you knew the "weather" right here at CHS? We have a weather station now and you can click on this link to get updated weather information! http://www.matsuk12.us//site/Default.aspx?PageID=22853

Security Gates

Attention students: this is a reminder to gather your belongings from your school locker at 02:15 p.m. as the security gates will be dropped and locked at the end of school each day. 5/20

Alaska Guide

The Alaska guide has created a no-cost resource dedicated to higher education in Alaska. The Alaska guide includes a complete look at the state's community colleges, public universities, private colleges, technical schools and distance learning options. Our proprietary search tool allows quick and accurate searching by institution type, setting, size, city and cost. http://www.onlinecollegesdatabase.org/online-colleges-in-alaska/ 12/19

Fundraising Opportunity

Fund-raising opportunity: In conjunction with Carrs/Safeway, Colony families have the opportunity to sign up their Safeway card with escrip. For a power registration with the group number and info go to www.escrip.com to get signed up. From there, Safeway keeps track of groceries bought, then gives Colony a portion of the total spent. This is an awesome way for our families to help fund raise for us. All we do is go shop!

Brendon McMahon, CHS Principal