Colony HS Daily Bulletin

"Excellence for All"

The Mission of

Colony High School.

Is to inspire academic achievement and personal growth in all our students so that they will successfully participate as active and responsible citizens in our ever-changing world.

Colony Daily News

Daily Announcements




CHS Basketball Homecoming Week~ January 30--February 4!

Hall Decorating Theme: Welcome to the Jungle!


Dress Days for class points:

M-Animal Print

T-Camo

W-Bright Colors

R-Rain Gear

F-Wear Colony Green


Homecoming Dance, Saturday, February 4, 7 pm-10pm



Come join in the fun and compete, and show off your talents in the Mr & Miss CHS Pageant! This is a lighthearted event that ALL can participate in. If you are a Jr/Sr. you can win prom tickets, don't worry there is also a prize if a Frsh/Soph wins. Informational meeting is Feb 2 2:20pm in Mrs.Watson's room.


Now for a message from your CHS Key Club announcing a special Valentine's Day activity called "Key to Colony's Heart."
Surprise yourself or your valentine with a decorated locker on Valentine's Day, or find your perfect celebrity soulmate for only five dollars per activity, or do both for eight dollars.
Meet us in front of the trophy cases during both A and B lunch every day from February 6th through the 13th.
We greatly appreciate your donations, and we wish you all a happy Valentine's Day!


February 15th is "Becoming a Knight" at CHS and we will be showing off all that CHS has to offer at 7 pm with 8th grade parents.



Calling all CHS Students and Staff: Let’s start this new year moving in the mornings at Colony High. The gym will be open from 7:00 - 7:30 every morning, with an extended time on Monday mornings from 7:00 - 8:30 to support working families and active students. We will have healthy snacks daily and prizes that students can earn for their first 5, 10 and 20 visits! #GetMoving #KnightsLeadTheWay #BeKind #BeActive #BeStrong #BeYourself



CHS will be offering a second opportunity to take the ASVAB on January 24th at 7:45 am. Keep in mind that this test is affiliated with the military but there are not any military requirements or connections after testing. The ASVAB is a free resource for all students and can help students identify what careers might interest them. Please sign up in Counseling as soon as possible


Parent Conference Day~ February 24, 2023. No School.


PSAT will be offered for all of our freshmen March 2nd!


Quarter 3 Ends March 9th

Work Day, no school for students March 10th


Spring Break ~ March 13-17


Professional Development Day ~No school April 28th


AP Testing ~Coming in May 2023


Graduation ~ May 17th, 7 pm at the Menard


Quarter 4 Ends May 19th (last day of school!)



National Honor Society will now be tutoring will now be offered all Wednesdays and Thursdays during both A and B lunch in the library. There will be no sign-ups required and interested students can just meet with NHS students in the library.




Yearbooks are on sale now! Go to yearbooksforever.com to purchase. Use the Yearbook Snapapp to upload photos that you would like to contribute. Seniors! Senior portraits and quotes are due December 1st. For the people in the back: USE THE QR CODES POSTED THROUGHOUT THE BUILDING TO SUBMIT PHOTOS!



Do you have a parent or sibling that graduated from Colony? Yearbook is doing a then and now theme this year. If you know an alumni, please encourage them to submit a current photo to colonyhsyearbook@gmail.com. There is a link on the facebook page with additional information.



The music department boosters are selling Colony Gold Cards that are good for Discounts and free food all over the Valley! There are amazing coupons for Cold Stone, Subway, Hacienda, Panda Express, and much more!! Cards are $25 and can be purchased from Mrs. Rentz in the Choir Room.


Join Girls Who Code Club. Stop by Mrs. Sanders room 1044 for a club form and to sign-up. No experience necessary, just interest in learning to use technology and coding.


2022/2023 school calendar link:

https://www.matsuk12.us/site/handlers/filedownload.ashx?moduleinstanceid=19013&dataid=96287&FileName=2022-2023%20SCHOOL%20CALENDAR.pdf


Do you drive to school?

All students must have a parking permit to park in the school parking lot. Parking permit forms are available in the front office.

This Week at Colony


Colony High School Activities


This weeks schedule January 23-27



Monday, Jan 23

  • Hockey practice 3:30-4:45
  • Nordic Ski @ GPRA 2:25-6
  • Wizard of Oz practice 2:30-4:15
  • Basketball Boys C Team 2:30-4
  • Basketball Boys JV practice 6-9
  • Basketball practice G JV/V 3-6
Tuesday, Jan 24th
  • Hockey practice 3:30-4:45
  • Nordic Ski 2:45-4:45
  • Wizard of Oz practice 2:30-4:15
  • Music performance @ Teeland
  • Basketball Boys C Team 2:30-4
  • BASKETBALL Games @ ACS JV & V 4:30/6
  • BB Cheer starting at 2:45-5
  • Basketball Girls practice G JV/V 3-6

Wednesday, January 25th
  • Hockey practice
  • Nordic Ski 2:45 - 6 GPRA
  • Wizard of Oz 2:15-5
  • Basketball Boys C Team 2:30-4
  • Basketball Boys JV practice 6-9
  • Basketball Girls practice 3-6
  • BB Cheer No practice
  • JROTC - Riffle 3-7 Small Gym

Thursday , Jan 26
  • Hockey practice 3:30 - 4:45 Menard
  • Hockey Varsity @ Bartlett 6:30 Ben Boeke
  • Nordic Ski 2:45 - 4:30
  • Wizard of Oz 2:15 - 4:15
  • Basketball practice Boys C team 2:30-4
  • Basketball Boys JV/V practice 6-9
  • Basketball Girls Varsity @ Kodiak
  • Basketball Cheer practice 2:45-5


Friday, Jan 27

  • Hockey JV vs Palmer 5:30 @ Menard; Varsity practice 7pm @ Menard
  • Nordic Ski - Kenai/Seward
  • Wizard of Oz 2:30 - 4:15
  • Basketball Girls V @ Kodiak
  • Basketball Boys - C team vs Kodiak 3; JV - 4:30; V - 6pm
  • Basketball Cheer - vs Kodiak

Saturday, Jan 28
  • Hockey JV vs West Valley 7:00 @ Menard
  • Nordic Ski - Kenai/Seward
  • TRI-M Cabaret 6-9 CHS Theater
  • Basketball Boys - C team vs Kodiak 10am; JV - 11:30; V - 1pm
  • Basketball Cheer - vs Kodiak

Seniors

Attention Seniors:



    • March - Talent/Speech Auditions for Ceremony (times TBA)
    • April - Art submissions for program cover due (date TBA)

    If you have questions about graduation, please call or email Graduation Coordinator Mrs. Haase in the Library at Stephanie.Haase@matsuk12.us

    907-861-5538

    Click this link to take you to the MSBSD Community Flyers page:

    https://www.matsuk12.us/Page/26223

    Yearbooks

    Yearbooks are on sale now! Go to yearbooksforever.com to purchase. Use the Yearbook Snapapp to upload photos that you would like to contribute. Seniors! Senior portraits and quotes are due December 1st. For the people in the back: USE THE QR CODES POSTED THROUGHOUT THE BUILDING TO SUBMIT PHOTOS!

    Clubs

    List of Clubs & Activities


    Actvitiy - Advisor/Coach Email


    Band Jamin Burton jamin.burton@matsuk12.us

    Baseball JV-Varsity Jordan Chadwell jordan.chadwell@matsk12.us

    Basketball Boys C-JV-Varsity Tom Berg thomas.berg@matsuk12.us

    Basketball Girls C-JV-Varsity Chandice Kelly chandice.cronk@matsuk12.us

    Battle of the Books Stephanie Haase stephanie.haase@matsuk12.us

    BB Cheerleading JV-Varsity Jasmine Talbot colonycheer@gmail.com

    Choir Kelly Rentz kelly.rentz@matsuk12.us

    Close Up Tom Berg thomas.berg@matsuk12.us

    Brian McIntosh brian.mcintosh@matsuk12.us

    XC Running Boys Norm Rousey coachrousey@hotmail.com

    XC Running Girls Rhonda Knopp rhonda.knopp@matsuk12.us

    Dance Sabrina Johns sabrina.johns@matsuk12.us

    Drama Kelly Rentz kelly.rentz@matsuk12.us

    Brian Mead brian.mead@matsuk12.us

    E-Sports

    FB Cheerleading JV-Varsity Jasmine McEwen colonycheer@gmail.com

    Football C-JV-Varsity Robbie Nash rnash@mtasolutions.com

    Freshman Class

    Gay/Straight Alliance (GSA) Pat O'Neal Pat.oneal@matsuk12.us

    Girls Who Code Traci Sanders Traci.sanders@matsuk12.us

    Hockey JV-Varsity Chris Yaskus cyaskus@hotmail.com

    Interact Rotary Amanda Cabo-Settle amanda.cabo-settle@matsuk12.us

    JROTC Anthony Petroccia anthony.petroccia@matsuk12.us

    Junior Class Brian McIntosh brian.mcintosh@matsuk12.us

    Katrina Nilson katrina.nilson@matsuk12.us

    Key Club Ross Clifford ross.clifford@matsuk12.us

    Leadership Brian McIntosh brian.mcintosh@matsuk12.us

    Marching Band Jamin Burton jamin.burton@matsuk12.us

    M. Band Color Guard Kelly Rentz kelly.rentz@matsuk12.us

    Nat. Honor Society Sabrina Johns sabrina.johns@matsuk12.us

    Nordic Ski / X-Ski boys Mark Strabel mark.strabel@matsuk12.us

    Nordic Ski / X-Ski girls David Knopp David.knopp@matsuk12.us

    NYO

    Partners Club Sarah Crowell sarah.crowell@matsuk12.us

    Pep Band Jamin Burton jamin.burton@matsuk12.us

    Poetry Out Loud Trevor Townsend trevor.townsend@matsuk12.us

    Competitive Robotics Brian Mead brian.mead@matsuk12.us

    Science Olympiad

    Senior Class Sabrina Johns sabrina.johns@matsuk12.us

    Alex Harris alexandra.harris@matsuk12.us

    Shooting Team Frank Monfrey fsmonfrey@gmail.com

    Sign Language (ASL) Kathy Cappa katherine.cappa@matsuk12.us

    Skills USA Kelly/Moore/Trotter ashley.kelly@matsuk12.us

    Soccer Boys JV-Varsity Jeremy Johnson jerjohnsozzy@hotmail.com

    Soccer Girls JV-Varsity Jeremy Johnson jeremy.johnson@matsuk12.us

    Softball Tamara Finley colonyknightssoftball@gmail.com

    Sophomore Class Don Kirby don.kirby@matsuk12.us

    Ross Clifford ross.clifford@matsuk12.us

    Spanish Club Chad Rice chad.rice@matsuk12.us

    Student Govt. Shannon Watson shannon.watson@matsuk12.us

    Swim & Dive Kaitlin Dault kaitlin.dault@matsuk12.us

    Emily Worley emily.worley@matsuk12.us

    Tennis Susan Brunner susan.brunner@matsuk12.us

    Track Boys

    Track Girls

    Volleyball C-JV-Varsity Steve Reynolds chsvbg1920@gmail.com

    Wrestling JV-Varsity Todd Hopkins todd.hopkins@matsuk12.us

    Yearbook Susan Brunner susan.brunner@matsuk12.us

    Ashley Kelly ashley.kelly@matsuk12.us

    CHS Athletics

    HOW TO REGISTER FOR ACTIVITIES AT COLONY HIGH SCHOOL

    NEW TO COLONY ATHLETICS:

    1. Create a parent and student account on www.PlanetHS.com (link accounts)
    2. Must have a current Physical (upload to Planet HS)- good for 18 months
    3. Take a Baseline IMPACT Concussion Test (see below for dates/time/location)
    4. Pay Sports Fee ($200)- MSBSD Website- SchoolPay -$200 for the 1st and 2nd sport, $100 for 3rd, and $500 cap per student per year

    RETURNING TO COLONY ATHLETICS:

    1. Update your parent and student accounts on PlanetHS.
    2. Upload physical (if needed) on PlanetHS
    3. Pay Sports Fee ($200)- MSBSD Website- SchoolPay -$200 for the 1st and 2nd sport, $100 for 3rd, and $500 cap per student per year

    College Visits:

    See counselors in the Counseling Office to pick-up mini flyers for upcoming University Visits, upcoming ASVAB/PSAT/SAT/ACT information, Tutor Request Forms, and any questions about I-Student.

    Scholarship and Financial Aid Information

    Colony High website: https://www.matsuk12.us/Page/20286



    Scholarships arriving daily - check the Guidance scholarship page for updated scholarship opportunities: https://www.matsuk12.us/Page/47330

    FAFSA information

    Testing

    College and Career Testing Information


    Colony High SAT/ACT testing

    Updated 8/12/2021

    Registration MUST be completed online

    ACT: www.actstudent.org

    SAT: www.collegeboard.org

    CHS Code: 020286


    As of July 31, the College Board has put the following requirements in place for SAT testing:

    1. Masks are no longer required - individuals can choose to mask or not mask.
    2. Plastic bags will be provided and issued to students in testing rooms so that electronic devices can be stored during testing; students will place their device in its bag and will place the bag in a bin.
    3. Students will be spaced 6 feet apart during testing and will be expected to maintain a 6-foot distance during check-in and breaks.
    4. The College Board has allowed for increased check-in and break time so that these conditions to be met/maintained.

    All tests are on Saturdays. Students need to check-in at CHS at 7:00 the morning of the test. Dismissal time may range from noon to 1:30 depending on the type of test, and/or accommodations for students. Test room capacities have been reduced, and additional time has been added to breaks to allow for social distancing as appropriate. Students choosing to wear a mask will be asked to remove their mask briefly at the time of building check-in and individual room check-in for identification purposes.

    SAT CHS test dates 2022-2023:

    • August 28th
    • October 1st
    • November 5th
    • December 3rd
    • March 11th
    • May 6th
    • June 4th

    ACT CHS test dates 2022-2023:

    • September 10th
    • October 22nd
    • December 10th
    • February 11nd
    • April 15th
    • June 10th
    • July 15th

    *ACT may add dates in the fall/winter; those will be posted when the information is available.

    Colony HS Program of Studies

    Community Feedback Survey Forms

    Please visit http://www.matsuk12.us/domain/5312 for student, parent, and staff surveys.

    Colony High School Report Card

    Parents,

    As a requirement of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, states and school districts must issue annual report cards to parents. The purpose of the report card is to provide parents with information about the district and their child’s school in terms of teacher qualifications, academic achievement, and school/district accountability. To access the report cards, please visit the following link at:

    http://www.matsuk12.us/cms/lib/AK01000953/Centricity/domain/100/compliance/CHS_REPORTCARDX.pdf

    Facebook Colony High School, Palmer Alaska

    Parents and Guardian:


    Feel free to join our Colony High School Facebook page. We will be posting our CHS Daily Bulletin, upcoming events, and some of the results of all of the great things happening at CHS. Thank you again for your continued support. I hope all is well . . . Go KNIGHTS!!!


    Mary Fulp (principal)

    Fundraising Opportunity

    Fund-raising opportunity: In conjunction with Carrs/Safeway, Colony families have the opportunity to sign up their Safeway card with escrip. For a power registration with the group number and info go to www.escrip.com to get signed up. From there, Safeway keeps track of groceries bought, then gives Colony a portion of the total spent. This is an awesome way for our families to help fund raise for us. All we do is go shop!

    Mary Fulp, CHS Principal