Caste System of India

Rachel Edwards, Molly Costello, Ashlyn Eddings

The Caste System

The Caste System is the policy of caste-based reservation of jobs. The caste system is still part of Indian Culture but not as strict as it used to be. The priests are going to be at the top of the Caste Pyramid. Originated more than 2000 years ago. The four primary castes are the Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra. The three key areas of life dominated by caste were marriage, meals and religious worship.



If a person takes food from a lower caste member it's considered to be polluted.

To the right is a traditional Indian dish known as Dosa which consists of potatoes, green peas, flour and much more, the Vardkey(dish) beside it is Dar which consists of molten gore (sweet) and sliced carrots.


Brahmins are at the top of the Caste System. (Priests.)
Big image


Second level from the top of the Caste System (Warriors.)
Big image


Third level of Caste System (Merchants and Landowners.)
Big image


4th level from the top (Servants.)


Bottom of the Caste System ( Street sweepers, Cobblers, and Toilet cleaners.)
Big image