Iowa Core Cirriculum

By: Haylee Deuth

What is Iowa Core Cirriculum?

Curriculum used to help ensure the success of every student.

What does the Iowa Core offer students?

Ensures success by providing a world class curriculum & prepares students for life after school is over.

What does the ICC offer teachers?

Helps teachers take learning to a deeper understanding by focusing on set standards.

What are the 5 Characteristics of Effective Instruction?

  1. Student Centered Classroom
  2. Teaching For Understanding
  3. Assessment For Learning
  4. Rigorous/Relevance Curriculum
  5. Teaching For Learning Differences

Differences Between Learning:

Intended: consent target for the enacted curriculum captured in content standards or similar documents

Enacted: content actually delivered during instruction

Assessed: content assessed to determine achievement

What is the role/makeup of a ICC Leadership Team?

To encourage and engage teachers in preliminary dialoge, analysis of work, coordination of resources, examination of content, improved teaching practices, and increased student engagement.

3 Main Stakeholders of the icc:

  1. Leadership
  2. Community
  3. Schools

3 Main Parts of Icc:

  1. Content
  2. Instruction
  3. Assessment

What is Assessment for Learning?

Provides feedback to adjust ongoing teaching to improve students core content achievement.

Content Areas Included in the Icc:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Science
  4. Social Studies
  5. 21st century skills

What are 21st century skills?

  1. Civil literacy
  2. Financial literacy
  3. Health literacy
  4. Technology Literacy
  5. Employability Skills

Literacy Content:

  1. Reading: Literature
  2. Reading: Informational Text
  3. Reading: Foundational Skills
  4. Writing
  5. Speaking/Listening
  6. Language

Math content:

  1. Algebra
  2. Geometry
  3. Trigonometry
  4. Calculus
  5. Economics/Statistics

science content:

  1. Science as Inquiry
  2. Earth & Space
  3. Life Science
  4. Physical Science

Social Studies Content:

  1. Behavioral Sciences
  2. Economics
  3. Geography
  4. History
  5. Political Science/Civil Literacy

What is a student centered classroom?

Students construct their own knowledge. Teachers take skills, knowledge, and connect them to students interests and environment.

Rigorous & Relevant Curriculum:

Rigorous: complex, provocative, personally/emotionally challenging.

Relevant: requires students to use knowledge to solve real world problems.

Six Levels of Bloom Taxonomy

5 Levels of Application Model:

  1. knowledge in one disciple
  2. apply in discipline
  3. apply across disciplines
  4. apply to real world situations (predicted)
  5. apply to real world situation (unpredicted)

Rigor/Relevance Framework:

The quadrants of the framework:

Quadrant A: Acquisition- students gather/store bits of knowledge and information.

Quadrant B: Application- students use acquired knowledge to solve problems.

Quadrant C: Assimilation- students extend/refine acquired knowledge to be able to use it automatically.

Quadrant D: Adaptation- students think of complex ways to apply knowledge and skills & further develop knowledge and understanding