This Week at Brookside...

Friday, January 8, 2016

Classroom Spotlight... Mrs. Dias' 5th Grade Class!

In a cross-building connection, Mrs. Weber, Mrs. Dias and Ms. Zygiel culminated their unit on the age of Exploration with animated cartoons about the life and times of Christopher Columbus. The students were required to complete an animated slide show in the first person about Christopher Columbus including historically accurate humor and speech bubbles. The students researched the information from several websites and were responsible to gather animated figures and upload them into their Google Slide. "I really enjoyed doing the speech bubbles" says Luke Ayaz.

The Cold Weather is Here!

Parents, please be reminded that children should come to school prepared for outside recess. A hat, gloves and a scarf are all things that children should have with them to keep them warm in the cold weather.

Health Office - Mrs. Bolton

Just to Recap New Jersey Legislation on Car Seat Mandates


TRENTON — New Jersey's new car seat law goes into effect September 1, 2015 with some of the most restrictive rules in the nation on how kids should be buckled into vehicles.


The law includes new regulations that require toddlers under age 2 and 30 lbs. to remain in rear-facing car seats. Older kids must remain in a booster seat until they are either age 8 or 57 inches tall.


That could mean big changes for many New Jersey families. The state's previous law only said children under age 8 needed to be in a car seat or booster seat. It largely allowed parents to decide when and if their children were ready to move to forward-facing seats and boosters.


The new law also boosts fines for parents and caregivers who ignore the changes. Police could issue $50 to $75 tickets to motorists caught with children in the wrong car seat or no booster seat.


Under the new law, parents with kids under age 2 and under 30 lbs. must turn their car seats back around to be rear facing, even if the child seems uncomfortable, O'Connor said. It is the safest way to transport the child," he said.


A summary of the new law:


Birth to age 2: A child under age 2 and under 30 lbs. must be in a rear-facing car seat with a five-point harness. That means toddlers who are tall or have long legs must remain rear-facing until age 2 even if their knees are bent and their feet are pressed against the back seat of the car.


Ages 2 to 4: A child under age 4 and 40 lbs. must remain in either a rear-facing or a forward-facing car seat with a five-point harness in the back seat of a vehicle.


Ages 4 to 8: Children must remain in a car seat or a booster seat in the back seat of a vehicle until they are at least 8 years old or 57 inches tall. Once they reach that age or height, they can use the regular adult seat belts.


Age 8 and above: A child age 8 and older can sit in a regular seat using a seat belt. However, the New Jersey law does not specify when children over age 8 can move from the back seat to the front seat. The federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends children not sit in the front seat until age 12.


Front seats: If a vehicle doesn't have a back seat (like a pick-up truck or a sports car), New Jersey's law says a child can ride in the front seat in a car seat or a booster seat. But the vehicle's passenger-side airbag must be disabled or shut off if a baby or toddler is using a rear-facing car seat strapped into the front seat of the vehicle. The force of air bags can injure small children if they deploy.


Fines: The fines for violating New Jersey's car seat law are currently $10 to $25. Under the revised legislation, they are going up to $50 to $75 in September. The law does not say how police would verify the age, height or weight of a child when issuing a ticket.


Exemptions: You can no longer get out of a ticket by claiming in court that you were following the manufacturer's weight and age recommendations for your child's car seat. That provision was removed from the new version of the law.


Need help?: Every county in New Jersey has one or more child safety seat checkpoints where parents and caregivers can get free help determining which seat they need, how to install it and how to adjust it to fit their child. A schedule is posted on the state Division of Highway Traffic Safety website.


Source: Kelly Heyboer may be reached at kheyboer@njadvancemedia.com. Follow her on Twitter @KellyHeyboer. Find NJ.com on Facebook.


Sincerely,

Mary Ellen U. Bolton, MA, RN, NJ-CSN

Brookside PTO

To help everyone have a better awareness of our PTO and what they are up to, please make sure to visit their webpage!

http://www.wwrsd.org/Page/13916

FYI Dates...

1/12: 5th Grade Program on Epilepsy

1/14: PTO Meeting

1/15: PTO Night at the Cinema

1/18: School Closed

1/22: PTO Family Bingo Night