New Zealand Catholic Primary Principals' Association

Big picture

Term 3 2022

President's Welcome Message

Kia ora tātou,

Greetings from a beautiful Christchurch day. Our Executive have been meeting early in the week due to the NZPF Conference. In our time together we have had the chance to share ideas, explore new connections and review our workstreams. Each group have a summary of their review included in this newsletter.

This meeting we welcomed Teresa Jarvis to our Executive - Teresa has replaced Annie Nelson as a Dunedin Diocesan Representative. Annie was a member of the Executive for 6 years. She brought a real sense of energy and commitment to her role and we will always remember her dynamic role as MC at our conferences. We appreciate everything Annie has contributed to our team and wish her every blessing in her new role with the Ministry Of Education.

We warmly congratulate, Anna Wormald who has been elected to the role of Vice President of our Association.

We also welcome Paul Coakley to our Executive. Paul has replaced Daniel Pepper as an Auckland Diocese Representative.

As you approach the end of term I hope you have plans to take a well-earned break. Take time to reenergize, rest and most importantly relax in preparation for the final term of the year.

Ngā mihi nui

Dr Sue Jury



Our Term 3 meeting was held in Christchurch 12th & 13th September 2022 prior to the New Zealand Principals Federation conference.

President: Dr. Sue Jury

Vice: Anna Wormald

Treasurer: Deb Daines

Secretary: Liz Heatley

The following principals are executive members: Michele Mill, Jo McKay, David Macmillan, Debra White, Janet Cummings, Paul Coakley, Teresa Jarvis, and Caroline Gilligan.

Please note that Anna Wormald has taken on the role of Vice President following Annie Nelson’s resignation from NZCPPA.

Next Exec Meeting: 2 - 4 November in Auckland

Auckland principals will receive an invitation to dinner on Thursday 3 November.

Nau mai Haere Mai to our New Tumuaki


Nau mai to the best job in the world!

Palmerston North Diocese: Gemma Gardiner (St Patrick’s Napier)

Wellington Archdiocese: Jen Ioannou (St Brigid’s Johnsonville)


Goal: To uphold and strengthen the role of principal within the Catholic Schooling Network

Dr. Sue Jury (Featured)

To represent the views of principals

As a group we discussed and analyzed the Draft Principal Eligibility Criteria that has been shared with representative groups for consultation from the Teaching Council of Aotearoa NZ.

We have created plans to advocate with the following groups - NZSTA, NZPF, NZ Catholic Secondary Principals and Te Kupenga.

The executive members responsible for advocating on your behalf are Sue Jury (Wellington) Anna Wormald (Palmerston North) David Macmillan ( Hamilton) Debra White (Hamilton)


Goal: To streamline communication across the Catholic Principal network.

Jo McKay (Featured)

We discussed the purpose of our communications and the current sources we are using at present.

These are:

Have a look at our refreshed Website!

Leaders within each Diocese need to share the information out to their principals within our groups.

The executive members responsible for communication are Jo McKay (Dunedin) Paul Coakley (Auckland) Michele Mill (Auckland) Liz Heatley (Wellington)


Goal: To create and develop links of assistance and active unity amongst Catholic principals throughout New Zealand.

Deb Daines (Featured)

Connecting with Aspiring Leaders

Caroline Gilligan, from our NZCPPA Executive is presenting at the 2021-22 cohort of Aspiring Leaders on Her Journey to Principal Leadership.

Best Practice Across the Motu

If you are interested in these initiatives in schools then please contact these people who are happy to share this knowledge and experience

  • Deborah White from Marin School in Hamilton - working in the Russell BIshop/Teaching to the North-East: Relationship-based learning in practice.

  • Palmerston Diocese - Teresa Edwards: Health and Sexuality resources

If you have any good practice ideas or programmes that you are willing to share with other Catholic schools please contact one of our team.

Serve: Give your hands to serve, and your hearts to love, Mother Teresa

The executive members responsible for service are Janet Cummings (Christchurch) Deb Daines (Christchurch), Teresa Jarvis (Dunedin) Caroline Gilligan (Palmerston North)
Big picture

Featuring our Gold Sponsor: Toshiba

We are thankful for a decades contribution to our Association from Jim Nolan and the Toshiba Team!
Big picture