Central Park East II

Week of February 16 , 2016

Have a great week. See you on the 22nd.

Congratulations! our school is a 2015-2016 Respect for ALL Award Winning School!!

We just received notification that after meeting the pre-determined RFA criteria, being nominated by our Superintendent and submitting a great response to the RFA prompt, our school is now in the very select group of Respect for All Award Winning schools for 2015-2016. More information will follow as we receive it.

Needed for the Art Room

  • metal cans of all sizes (cleaned out - no sharp edges please)
  • random small metal hardware from around the house (nuts, washers, et

Keep up the reading over the break

As requested by parents, we have kept HOME PRACTICE to a minimum over the break. We have asked, however, that children keep reading. For readers, 30 - 60 minutes daily seems doable. For younger children, please find time to read aloud.
Big image

CPE II Community Cookbook - Call For Recipes

Mariama Duncan, Ruby's Mom, is organizing the CPE II Community Cookbook Project. Families have been emailing her their healthy food recipes and she has been compiling them into a book. We know that healthy eating is important to our school and this project as a way to help make healthy cooking accessible. So far, Mariama has collected about 24 recipes. She hopes to include recipes from different cultures. Wouldn't it be nice to have the diversity of the CPE II community reflected in this project?


Parents can email their recipes by completing this form https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1qP0IF_uBf4dLPg5BtKBofRcvVT85bR-wXxU2LkX0XCA/viewform or just sending them to cookbook@cpe2.org.

Dates to Keep in Mind

Monday, Feb. 15 - Friday, Feb. 19 - Mid Winter Break - No School

Friday, February 26th at 3:30 - Diller Quale Quartet

Thursday, March 3 - Early Dismissal for Staff Professional Development

Friday, March 4 - Deadline to apply for Pre-K

Friday, March 11 - CPE II Talent Show

Wednesday, March 23 CPE II Picture DayThursday, March 24 CPE II Picture Day

Friday, March 25 – Good Friday - No School

Tuesday, April 5 – Thursday, April 7 – Grade 3 – 6 NYS ELA

Wednesday, April 13 – Friday April 15 - Grade 3 – 6 NYS Math

Saturday, April 16 – Spring Fair

Monday, April 25 – Friday, April 29 Spring Recess (including Passover) No School

Friday, May 13 - Early Dismissal for Staff Professional Development

Monday, May 30 – Memorial Day Observed No School