Blue Mountains

By Alicia Chung

About the Blue Mountains

The Blue Mountains is a mountainous region in NSW. Geologically, it is situated in the central parts of the Sydney Basin. About 70 per cent of the area is incorporated into the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park, consisting of seven national park areas and a conservation reserve.

The Three Sisters

The Three Sisters is the Blue Mountains’ most spectacular landmark. It is located at Echo Point Katoomba, around 2.5 kilometres from the Great Western Highway. This iconic visitor attraction is experienced by millions of people each year.

The Dreamtime Story

The Aboriginal dream-time legend has it that three sisters, 'Meehni', 'Wimlah' and Gunnedoo' lived in the Jamison Valley as members of the Katoomba tribe.

These beautiful young ladies had fallen in love with three brothers from the Nepean tribe, yet tribal law forbade them to marry.

The brothers were not happy to accept this law and so decided to use force to capture the three sisters causing a major tribal battle.

As the lives of the three sisters were seriously in danger, a witchdoctor from the Katoomba tribe took it upon himself to turn the three sisters into stone to protect them from any harm. While he had intended to reverse the spell when the battle was over, the witchdoctor himself was killed. As only he could reverse the spell to return the ladies to their former beauty, the sisters remain in their magnificent rock formation as a reminder of this battle for generations to come.