federal court system

different levels and their jobs.

District Courts

The United States district courts are trial courts of the federal court system. This is where federal cases are brought to trial, where witnesses testify, and federal juries serve. There are 94 federal district courts in the United States.

Courts of Appeals

There are 12 regional circuit courts, and one for the “Federal Circuit,” that were established by Congress to relieve some of the caseload of the Supreme Court, and to hear cases that are appealed from the 94 district courts.

The U.S. Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of the United States in Washington, D.C. is the highest court in the nation