LISD Visual Art

Fall, 2015 Issue 8: Information and Upcoming Events

Art Advocacy Update

Your Art Advocacy Committee met this week. Here are the highlights:

Professional Development

We are open to suggestions and opportunities for relevant Art Ed PD. Let us know!

Email any of us with your ideas.

LISD Visual Art Directory

Beating a dead horse here...

There are still a few of you who have not filled out your slides.

The Directory is going on the LISD Curriculum website.

West Zone Art Happenings:

Flower Mound's "Art Party!"

The Town of Flower Mound has recognized October as "Arts Month", and is celebrating with an "Art Party" this Friday at the Flower Mound Public Library, from 5-7pm. West Zone schools have student art exhibited, there will be performances from various schools and organizations, and cake! Come have fun this Friday.


And WAY TO GO, Tammie Turner, Bluebonnet Art teacher, who serves on the Flower Mound Cultural Arts Council and helped get this ball rolling!

Big image

Perspective for the Pantry

Flower Mound HS Feeder schools are participating in a perspective based still life/canned food drive. Students are creating 3D cans and boxes of food while contributing to the CCA food pantry.


The FMHS Feeder Zone Art show will be November 16, FMHS library.

Big image

We are here for you.

If you have any concerns or ideas regarding the state of Art Ed in LISD, please let us know. We are here to support and help you in any way we can.

Who's Who? Your Committee:

Elementary

Lynn Luck, luckm@lisd.net

Leslie McReynolds, Communications Chair, mcreynoldsl@lisd.net

Pam Sewell, sewellp@lisd.net

*Elizabeth Stroud, stroude@lisd.net (currently not available, please contact another member)


Middle School

Nancy Lawrence, lawrencen@lisd.net

Alesia Shaw, shawat@lisd.net

Chuck Brouilette, brouilettec@lisd.net


High School

Nicole Franczvai, Secretary, franczvain@lisd.net

Josh Fletcher, FletcherJ@lisd.net

Ross Hines, hinesr@lisd.net

Angel Holmes, holmesa@lisd.net

Marty Kruk, Chairperson, krukm@lisd.net

Kathy Toews, Superintendent’s Office Art Coordinator, toewsk@lisd.net


Administrators

Missey Head, Coordinator of Fine Arts, headj@lisd.net

Bill Watson, Director of Fine Arts, watsonb@lisd.net

Superintendent's Office Art Show Guidelines (on hold for now)

Superintendent’s Office

Artwork Selection

Rules and Regulations

Drafted: Fall 2014


Artwork/Submitting Artwork:

  • Teachers can submit as many works as they see fit.

  • Number of works selected:

    • 3 - Elementary School

    • 3 - Middle School

    • 3 - High School

  • All work will be submitted electronically to the Superintendent’s Art Show Coordinator (SAS Coordinator).

  • Each image must have:

    • media

    • dimensions/size

    • artist name

    • teacher name

  • The SAS Coordinator will mat, frame, and install all work selected, as well as maintain the show.

    • Framed work or work on canvas will not be framed/reframed, but will hang in existing state.

  • Artwork must be submitted to the SAS Coordinator prior to the following Arts Advocacy meeting dates: May, October, December, March.

The Show

  • Work will be displayed for 9 weeks. New works will be selected and placed in these months: September, November, January and April.

    • Participating Teachers and Students PLEASE NOTE: You will not be able to collect before the end of the 9 week time frame. All work selected will be hung for the full 9 weeks; therefore, work in the Superintendents Show is not available for other shows (for example: VASE, LISD District Shows).

  • The show can house up to, but no more than, three 3-D works.

    • The 3-D works must be ready for installation upon delivery to the SAS Coordinator.

Selection of Work

  • The selection committee is made up of 3 or more members of the Arts Advocacy Committee.

  • The process for selecting works will be the “sticky note method”. Each member of the committee will be given a proportional amount of sticky notes and then proceed to vote for their selection in each category (High, Middle, Elementary school).

  • The 3 works in each category that gather the most votes will be the works selected for the show.