Stepping Into 6th Grade

November 25th - November 26th

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

Science test: Nov. 26

ELA

This shortened Thanksgiving week, students will be using their creativity, reading and writing skills to put some Thanksgiving related articles together. We will also be using this time to work with students needing extra support and enrichment on finding meaning of unknown words. As always, students will also be doing independent reading in class.


Just as a quick reminder, students should have a book to read and earbuds to assist with our learning in reading. Thank you for seeing that your student has these items each day !!


After Break: we will introduce writing Research Papers


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

Last Week:

We learned that every ratio has two different Unit Rates and how to find them and describe them using per. We also learned that equivalent ratios have the same Unit Rate.


This Week:

We will wrap up Rates before moving into Percentages when we come back for break. We will end the last day before break by performing a Mid-Check for Unit 3 and the Unit 4 Pre-Test.


Monday: Lesson 3.9: Solving Rate Problems (Homework: Exit Slip 3.9)

Tuesday: Unit 3 Mid-Check and Unit 4 Pre-Test (Homework: Enjoy your break)

Wednesday: No School

Thursday: No School

Friday: No School


When we come back:

We will continue on with Lesson 3.9: What are Percentages?


ELO's:

I can solve Unit Rate real-world problems that include percentages by using ratios.


Vocabulary:

No new Vocabulary learned this week.



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science

Unit:

Moon phases and eclipses


6-8.ESS1.A.1 Develop and use a model of the Earth-Sun-Moon system to explain the cyclic patterns of lunar phases and eclipses of the sun and moon.


This Week: We will start learning why we see different phases of the moon and why we have eclipses!


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit Checklist


Learning Targets This Unit:

  • Student can describe how the geography of river valleys led to settlement and the beginning of civilization
  • Student can describe the advancement of civilization and its legacy


Vocabulary: River Valley, Fertile Crescent, Silt, Irrigation, Physical Characteristics, Legacy, Advancement, Polytheism, Monotheism, Monarchy, Dynasty, Theocracy


Monday: Review Egypt/ The Real Thanksgiving Story Lesson

Tuesday: Review Egypt/ The Real Thanksgiving Story Lesson

Wednesday: No School

Thursday: No School

Friday: No School


After Break: We will begin our unit on Ancient China. Students will learn about the First Emperor of China, The 4 Great Inventions of China, the Three Chinese Philosophies, and the Silk Road.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org