Trix Family News

Week of April. 11, 2022

Big picture
Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (45 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 4)

Happy Sunday Family!


Can you believe we are starting quarter 4 tomorrow? This school year is flying by and scholars only have 45 instructional days of school left.


Please be proactive and begin thinking and planning for the fall. If you have a 4.5-5 year old scholar who need to be enrolled in a school next year, please get your application in now for one of our kindergarten classrooms. If you have 8th graders who need to be enrolled in a High School this fall, begin that process as well. If you have friends or family who are looking for a new start for their K-8th grader for next fall, please tell them about Trix Academy. They can apply both online and in person.


Summer will also be here before you know it. Our Summer Advantage program not only provides academic support for your scholar, but also gives them the opportunity to go on field trips, and engage in other fun activities this summer. Your scholars have worked very hard this school year, please don't have them just sit in the house all summer. Take advantage of our program so they have a plan for the summer months.


Lastly, this is a short week for our scholars and there is NO SCHOOL on Friday, April 15th in recognition of Good Friday.


Please have a productive week and a safe Easter Holiday!

Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

Big picture

QUARTER 3 VIRTUAL PARENT-TEACHER-CONFERENCES

Parent Teacher Conferences will be held the week of April 18th. Teachers will contact the parents of scholars who is failing 2 or more subject in quarter 3. Final report cards will be mailed on Thursday, April 14th!

SCHOOL ESSER III FUNDS SURVEY - PARENT SURVEY

Please complete the survey below to give your feedback on how to use our ESSER III funds to support the staff and scholars of Trix Academy. Due by Thursday, April 14th!


https://forms.gle/p9w86wKg3JGumQTW7

Phalen Leadership Academies Town Hall

Calling all families with scholars that attend PLA partner schools in the Michigan or D.C. area! Join Phalen Leadership Academies Regional Leadership for a Michigan and D.C. area Virtual Townhall on Wednesday, April 27th at 6:00 PM EST/5:00 PM CST. Get important news and updates, learn more about PLA and ask questions!



Click the link today to register: https://phalen.info/TownHallApril27th

Big picture

Loved Ones Day Tuesday, April 12th

We will be celebrating "Loved One's Day" Tuesday, April 12th. We want to take a moment for scholars, parents and staff to remember those loved ones they have loss this year. Please log on to the zoom link at 2pm. After a brief presentation scholars and staff will exit out of the building for a balloon release. All balloons are biodegradable.

https://phalenacademies-org.zoom.us/j/83153650948


Meeting ID: 831 5365 0948

Big picture

PSAT Testing Wednesday, April 13th

Our 8th graders take the PSAT on Wednesday, April 13th. Please make sure your scholars are on time. Testing begins promptly at 9am. Any scholars who arrive after 9am will NOT be allowed to enter the testing environment and will have to be displaced in another room until testing is complete.


Please make sure your scholars get proper rest prior to testing day. Scholars should eat breakfast in the morning. Trix does provide breakfast every morning from 8:05am-8:25am.


We are excited for our scholars to take this assessment. Please give your 8th graders some words of encouragement this week as they begin their first step of higher learning.

80% Average Daily Attendance the week of April 4th - April 8th 76.5% Goal 95%

Big picture

Climate and Culture

Kindness goes a long way and it makes individuals feel good when someone is kind or treats them with respect. For the month of April, we will continue focusing on being kind! Parents please work with your scholars at home, while we work with them at school, to teach and show kindness. Scholars will randomly be rewarded for showing kindness this month.


Ways of being kind

Sharing

Complimenting others

Refraining from teasing, name calling and picking on others

Showing respect

Doing things that are fair and that show justice and peace

Offer to help others

Popcorn Fundraiser

ATTENTION: MONEY IS DUE MONDAY, APRIL 11TH!!!

Big picture

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Dates to Remember


April 11th - Quarter 4 Begins

April 11th-14th DRC Practice Tools (MSTEP)

April 12th Loved Ones Day

April 13th Final Grades Due (Q3)

April 13th PSAT Assessment

April 13th Henry Ford Museum 6th/7th Grade Only

April 14th MSTEP Pep-Rally

April 15th Good Friday No School

April 18th School Resumes

April 18th-22nd Teacher Scheduled Parent Teacher Conferences

April 19th Testing Season Officially Begins (MSTEP Testing Day 1)

WHAT ARE YOU DOING THIS SUMMER!!!

SUMMER ADVANTAGE 2022

It is never too early to be prepared!


Please click on link to see the Summer Advantage opportunity here at Trix Academy this Summer 2022.

(SPACE IS LIMITED SO SIGN UP TODAY!!)

Big picture

Summer Advantage Registration


Or call the Summer Advantage Team at 1-866-924-7226 from 8am-6pm Monday - Friday

Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available
Big picture

Top Trade Schools in Detroit

Big picture


Detroit At Work Scholarship Program


Detroit at Work has five scholarship programs designed to give Detroiters access to greater opportunity, better careers and higher earning power.

Fill out the FORM and choose all programs you're interested in.

If you're interested in a finding a job, call us at 313-962-9675! Detroit at Work is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Emerging Industries Training Institute:


Emerging Industries Training Institute (EITI) is Detroit’s premier vocational school. We are the only employer led training facility in the City of Detroit. We pride ourselves in offering employment opportunities for our graduates, offering classes year round. EITI has the success of our students at the forefront of everything we do…we are in the business of changing lives for the better…starting with yours!


Since 2009, EITI has placed over 2,200 graduates into viable careers. With a placement rate of over 90% and consistently retaining over 88% of our students, EITI works closely with participating employers to ensure our graduates receive the best employment experience possible.


Local Food Pantry:

New Covenant of Peace

13560 E. McNichols
Detroit, MI - 48205

Phone: (313) 526-4000
tonynewcop@yahoo.com

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Dwight Walls, Teacher - d.walls@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.