Square Up to RTI2

Response to Instruction and Intervention - August, 2017

Welcome Back!

This monthly newsletter is shared with administrators, instructional coaches, and interventionists. Each month we will share reminders, training dates, helpful hints, and best practices. Previous newsletters will also be included. Please share this newsletter with anyone working with RTI2.

Reminders

  • Universal Screening Dates have been set for the 2017-2018 school year. Fall: August 23-September 8; Winter: December 1-20; Spring: May 1-20
  • RTI2 data review meetings should occur every 4.5 weeks. Progress Reporting and AIMSweb graphs should be sent home after meetings
  • Notes from data review meetings should be documented in Aspen notes
  • Please note the tier when setting up the AIMSweb graph

Breaking News...Printing Student Plans Is Now Available!

The ability to print a student's RTI2 plan from Aspen is now available. This is a great feature to include in a student's record when they leave the district. To access the report you will need to first open the student's RTI2 plan under the Student tab. Click on Reports. Choose RTI Summary. For plans from the 2016-2017 school year, then you will need to click on the magnifying glass to change the school year (default is the current school year.) The plan will generate in a PDF format and can be printed. It is also a good reference for your RTI2 Team Meeting to review previous decisions, notes, and number of observations.

IMPORTANT - Updating Student Plans in Aspen

All current RTI2 Student Plans must be updated to the current school year. Open the Active plan under the Student tab. Click on Options and then choose Copy. Click OK. The Draft plan appears where edits can be made to the plan. Click on the Plan School Year and choose 2017-2018. After all changes have been made change the plan from Draft to Active and click Save.

Upcoming Training

  • AIMSweb training - August 2, 2017 - 1:00-3:30 at Sarah Simpson - This training is designed for those new to AIMSweb or as a refresher

RTI2 Coaches and School Assignments

Peggy Burkey peggy.burkey@knoxschools.org

Halls Elementary; Halls Middle; Halls High; Gibbs Elementary; Gibbs High; Ritta Elementary; Brickey-McCloud Elementary; Sterchi Elementary; Copper Ridge Elementary; Corryton Elementary; Richard Yoakley


Jan Coopwood
jan.coopwood@knoxschools.org

Cedar Bluff Elementary; Cedar Bluff Middle; Karns Elementary; Karns Middle; Karns High; Hardin Valley Elementary; Hardin Valley Academy; A.L. Lotts Elementary; West Hills Elementary; Ridgedale; L & N Stem Academy


Karla Halcomb karla.halcomb@knoxschools.org

Austin-East High; Fulton High; South Doyle High; West High; Central High; Vine Middle; Career Magnet Academy


Mary Lyster mary.lyster@knoxschools.org

Maynard Elementary; Beaumont Elementary; West View Elementary; Inskip Elementary; Farragut Primary; Farragut Intermediate; Sequoyah Elementary; Bearden Elementary; Ball Camp Elementary; Blue Grass Elementary; Amherst Elementary; Northwest Middle


Christine Pope christine.pope@knoxschools.org

Powell Elementary; Powell Middle; Powell High; Pleasant Ridge Elementary; Carter Elementary; Carter Middle; Carter High; East Knox County Elementary; Fountain City Elementary; Shannondale


Paula Sarver, Lead RTI2 Coach paula.sarver@knoxschools.org

Sarah Moore Greene Academy; Lonsdale Elementary; Green Magnet Academy; KAEC; Dr. Paul Kelly Volunteer Academy


Heidi Swaney heidi.swaney@knoxschools.org

Northshore Elementary; Rocky Hill Elementary; South Knox Elementary; Gap Creek Elementary; Bonny Kate Elementary; New Hopewell Elementary; Mooreland Heights Elementary; Mt. Olive Elementary


Bethany Underwood bethany.underwood@knoxschools.org

West Valley Middle; Holston Middle; Farragut Middle; Farragut High; Bearden Middle; Bearden High; South Doyle Middle; Whittle Springs Middle; Gresham Middle


Jennifer Yow jennifer.yow@knoxschools.org

Chilhowee Intermediate; Belle Morris Elementary; Spring Hill Elementary; Adrian Burnett Elementary; Christenberry Elementary; Sunnyview Primary; Dogwood Elementary; West Haven Elementary; Norwood Elementary; Pond Gap Elementary