Cherokee, NC

Murphy, NC (County Seat)

Like nature? This is the place for you!

Located in the Mountain region of North Carolina. The mountains that Cherokee, NC is located in are known as the "Great Smoky Mountains" and also features plenty of rivers, lakes, and streams. The counties of North Carolina it borders are: Graham, Macon, and Clay but also borders two counties of Tennesee: Polk County & Monroe County. Founded in 1839 and it was named to honor the Cherokee Indians.

Interested in Government?

Cherokee County has five members on the County Board of Commissioners. County Manager is Randy Wiggins.

Need something to do?

Interested in knowing about the Town of Murphy?

Town of Murphy

Six members on the town council. The town manager is Anna Payne & the Mayor is William N. Hughes. The Town of Murphy is known for the County Seat of Cherokee County located in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains.


Trout streams, mountain biking, Hiwassee Lake, & more!