TRIX ACADEMY

March 29, 2021

Dates to Remember

3/29/2021 - 4/5/2021 - Spring Break

From the Desk of the Principal

Hello Trix Academy Family!


Thank you for completing the "Return to 5 Days of In-person Instruction" survey. Your feedback helped us plan the best way to return to fulltime in-person instruction. Trix Academy will return full-time instruction on April 12, 2021. As a result, scholars do not have a particular day assigned to them as they are able to come in the building Monday through Friday. If this is your first time sending your scholar(s) for in-person learning, all safety guidelines, procedures and protocols will be followed as they have been followed throughout the school year. If you have any questions, comments and/or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out. The office number is (313) 426-1020 or you may email d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.


Sincerely,


Detra Coleman, Ed.S.

Trix Academy School Leader

Quarter 3 Report Cards

All report cards for Quarter 3 have been mailed. If you do not receive your child(ren) report card by April 2, 2021, please contact the office at (313) 377-1961 or d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.

MSTEP Assessment Coming Soon

Michigan Department of Education is still requiring scholars to take the state assessment called MSTEP. This assessment is given to all 3rd through 8th grade scholars in the State of Michigan. Unlike the NWEA assessment scholars have taken in the past, the MSTEP cannot be taken at home. As a result of the state requirement, all 3rd through 8th grade scholars will need to attend school on the day of the test. Please expect a phone call regarding your child(ren) testing day and time. If you prefer for your child to be picked up right after completing the assessment, please let the office know. If you have any questions, please contact the office at (313) 426-1020 or Ms. Coleman at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.

Summer Advantage

Phalen Leadership Academies is partnering with Summer Advantage USA to offer a 5-week summer learning program to our scholars AT NO COST TO YOU! Beyond being one of the nation's ONLY scientifically-studied summer programs proven to improve academic scores, Summer Advantage also artfully incorporates engaging enrichment activities every afternoon for a FULL DAY of learning & fun for our scholars! To enroll your scholar, please visit www.summeradvantage.org and click the yellow 'enroll here' button. Program specifics are below.


Location: Trix Academy (in-person)

Dates: June 28, 2021 - July 30, 2021

Times: Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM until 2:30 PM

Grades: 2nd - 6th

Contact: d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Technology Device Care Tips and Incentive

Trix Academy is in its last card marking for the 2020-2021 school year. In the upcoming months, communications will be sent regarding the process to return technology devices in June. For those who have taken care of technology devices an incentive will be given. Please continue to follow the technology care tips below.


  • Ensure the case remains on the iPad or Chromebook
  • Ensure food and drinks are not around the technology device
  • Ensure scholars are stationary when using the iPad or Chromebook
  • Monitor data usage on the hotspot
  • When lessons have concluded for the day, ensure the scholar places the device in the same location for the next day
  • Ensure technology devices are plugged in to charge at the end of the school day in order for scholars to have a fully charged device for the next school day.


If you have any questions, please let me know via email at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org or by calling the office at (313) 426-1020.

Facts About Attendance

Trix Academy is continuing to help all of our scholars participate in the learning process on a consistent basis. Based on data, there are certain patterns that exist for children who are chronically absent from school.


  • By 6th grade, chronic absence becomes a leading indicator that a student will drop out of high school.

  • Poor attendance can influence whether children read proficiently by the end of third grade or be held back.


In the midst of the challenges we are currently facing, it is important for our scholar(s) to log into class on a daily basis. Receiving first hand instruction on a consistent basis is very important to the learning process.

Breakfast

Trix Academy serves breakfast daily from 8:05am - 8:30am in each classroom to ensure social distancing is being observed. It is very important for all scholars to arrive at breakfast time to eat breakfast and begin learning at the start of instructional time.

Staff Email Addresses


Leadership

Detra Coleman, Principal - d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org



Sheilene Smith, Office Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org


Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Matthew Bowman, Academic Interventionist - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Sharon Dye, Lead Teacher - s.dye@mecc-academies.org

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org



Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher Assistant - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Darryle Cross, Teacher Assistant - d.cross@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher Assistant - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Christine Truesdell, Teacher - c.truesdell@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher Intern - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, Teacher Assistant - a.keys@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Paige DeRue, Teacher Assistant - p.derue@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org