Haley Lengel

Elementary Education Major

About Me

I am twenty-two years old living in a small town from Pennsylvania. I live with my grandmother who raised me from when I was little. I am an only child, so it's just me and her. I currently work at a daycare full time and tutor in my spare time. I also teach Sunday School at my church on Sundays. In my free time, I like to bake and take walks outside.

Education

I started out at the community college to take all my general education classes. I learned a lot from my professors there. I then moved on to the University of Pitt at Greensburg, where I took some education classes there. I also got to experience hands-on work of being in the field with the students and running my lessons in an after-school reading program. I am currently at California University of PA. I enjoy it greatly and love every minute of it here. I have met amazing and the most influential professors here. I plan to graduate in Fall of 2017 with my Bachelor's Degree and then continue my education here at Cal U for my Master's Degree.

Reading & Writing

To be honest, I have a love-hate relationship with reading and writing. I feel I have a hard time with it and struggle with it greatly. Others disagree and tell me otherwise.

Reading is my greatest struggle. It takes me a long time to comprehend and understand just one paragraph. I work on my reading usually in the summer time by reading stories that I find interesting. Authors that I like are Nora Roberts and Nicholas Sparks. These help me with my comprehension.

Writing is tricky for me as well. I like to write, but I don't like to write. I learned how to write better in college. I had an excellent professor my second year in college that helped me grow in my writing and expand on it better.

Big image