7th Grade Newsletter

October 2017

Congratulations to the newly elected 7th grade officers for 2017-2018!

PRESIDENT- Thai Tran

VICE PRESIDENT- Logan Westfall

SECRETARY- Kevin Gonzalez

HISTORIAN- Jailynn Rivera


Daniel Morgan Middle School Community News

Click here to get updates and learn more!

The annual DMMS Winchester Book Gallery Book Fair

Monday, Oct. 30th, 8:15am to Friday, Nov. 3rd, 3:30pm

Daniel Morgan Middle School Auditorium

The annual DMMS Winchester Book Gallery Book Fair will take place Monday, October 30th through Friday, November 3rd. The English teachers are in need of parent volunteers to help us run the event each day from 8:15am-3:30 pm. If you have any time available (even just an hour or two) and would like to help, please contact your child's English teacher with your name, your student's name, your cell phone number, and the day and time (beginning and end) you are available to help.


Thank you in advance for your support!

English News

We are finishing our reading of The Giver by Lois Lowry and we are working on culminating activities about the book. We will be researching various topics that we encountered while reading this classic dystopian novel. Many of us are writing our own continuation of what happened to Jonas and Gabe. This is the time for our creativity to shine!


When we finish with The Giver we will move into literature circles as part of our daily rotations. Students will be selecting books that they want to read and interact with from a teacher selection. Be ready to "book talk" with them about what they are reading! Happy Fall!!

7th Grade Math

This month is busy in Math 7. We will be translating written and mathematical expressions, evaluating expressions, performing property proofs, solving one and two step equations, graphing inequalities, and solving one-step inequalities. We are also continuing Math 7.0 for help after school Monday through Thursday. Any missing assignments or retakes may be completed during lunch or after school during Math 7.0. Students will be taking their Quarter 1 Benchmark on October 11th and 12th.

Math 7/8

We just finished Unit 2, and are quickly moving into Unit 3. The next few weeks will be busy ones as we learn to write and solve single-step, two-step, and multi-step equations and inequalities. We will also be learning how to graph the answers to those inequalities. This study will take us into the beginning of November, with our test tentatively scheduled for Nov. 2nd.


Algebra 1

We have wrapped up our unit on equations and inequalities. Next, we will move into a unit on relations and functions, along with their characteristics. We will also be learning how to determine zeros of functions. The next month will be a busy one!


Physical Science Classes

These classes will be investigating changes in matter including physical and chemical properties, physical and chemical changes, and the Law of Conservation of Matter and Energy.

World Area Studies News

In 7th grade World Area Studies we have started our second research project. Students will be looking at the importance of Standard of Living through the lens of three case studies from Central America. We will be reading about Haiti, Costa Rica, and the Dominican Republic. The research will include reading, writing, and culminate with the creation of a google slide show.

Please Feel Free to Contact Us!

DMMS Phone # (540) 667-7171

English:

Gina Heskett heskett@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75142

Amy Entwisle entwisle@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75179

Beth Buerkel buerkel.mary@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75114

Cindy Smith smith@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75101

Mary Cate Cornish cornishm@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75229

Miranda Delmerico delmerico@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75121

Karla Pino pinok@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75274

Math:

Jodi Milburn milburn@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75153

Kelly Cooper cooper@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75178

Taylor Llewellyn llewellynt@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75203

Gretchen Gensemer gensemer@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75184

Alicia Wheeling wheeling@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75182

Ellen Milligan milligane@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75188

Social Studies:

Jamie Lupton lupton@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75151

Mike Vanderwater vanderwaterm@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75286

Eric Miller millereric@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75160

Science:

Gerard Post post@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75192

Chris Harasyn harasyn@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75253

Debbie Vann vann@wps.k12.va.us EXT 75122

Guidance Counselor:

Chris Ail ailc@wps.k12.va.us EXT 73003

7th Grade Asst. Principal:

Matt Roark roarkm@wps.k12.va.us EXT 71009