Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 03/06/2022

Classified Appreciation Week

We are ready to celebrate our classified staff this next week. As we continually talk about the importance of student support, it is clear that all staff have an impact on the success of all. From the time our students arrive on the bus, enter our building, go to the cafeteria, get some breakfast, help clean up their garbage, and head to class first thing in the morning, they've already been in contact with several classified staff members that start their day in with positive interactions. We appreciate you!

Entryway Mural Final Vote

Final vote is in! We are so impressed by all of our student submission that informed this final design. Our students voted for their #1 choice this past week we are so excited for this project. We want to thank our students as well as our PTO for making this happen.
Big picture

ADVISORY LESSON MONDAY *SELF-REFLECTION

We will have copies of the self-assessment forms for students to complete during our March 7th advisory time together. We will be putting these together with student data as well as goals they've set for this second semester to send home to families prior to spring conferences.


In that mailing, families will have the opportunity to sign up for a spring conference. However, please feel free to always reach out by email if you have any questions or concerns prior to conferences as well. We appreciate the communication!

ATTENTION 8TH-11TH GRADE PARENTS

Stanwood High School will be hosting the 1st Annual Electives Fair on March 9th from 5:00-7:30 PM. This is an opportunity for students and families to learn about the course offerings and opportunities for next year. High School registration will be starting after this event, so it is a great time to hear directly from teachers and students about the various choices available to students.
Big picture

Week of March 7th through March 11th

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Self-Assessment (Conference Prep)

Varsity Basketball @ Haller


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

JV Wrestling @ SMS


Wednesday:

RED Wednesday

Varsity Basketball vs Park Place

V Wrestling @ Lakewood

*8th Grade Elective Night (Stanwood High School)


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

DISTRICT INFORMATION

SUMMER ACADEMY AT SKAGIT VALLEY COLLEGE JULY 6 - AUGUST 5

The following message below is being shared with families. Please help promote this summer opportunity.


The Foundation for Academic Endeavors (FAE) is hosting a 5-week summer enrichment program for preschool-8th grade students and registration is open! Literacy and reading will be integrated into curriculum based on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM).


More information, including program and registration requirements, can be found in the flyer and also on their website and social media page.


Foundation for Academic Endeavors (Facebook)

FAE Summer Academy 2022 (website)

FAE Summer Academy 2022 (English)

FAE Summer Academy 2022 (Spanish)


If you have any questions, please contact Mariela Hernandez, EL School Home Liaison, by email, mhernandez@stanwood.wednet.edu, or phone, 360.965.8268.

REPLACEMENT CAPITAL PROJECTS AND TECHNOLOGY LEVY

Learn more detailed information about the proposed levy at https://www.stanwood.wednet.edu/levy

This proposed local replacement levy would fund critical facility and technology needs not funded by the state.

50% is to be used for long-term facility needs and 50% is to be used to upgrade the technology used for student learning and staff/personnel computers at all schools.

This is not a new tax. This is a replacement of an expiring levy and will not raise taxes currently being paid if it is approved. We are committed to keeping the rates as stable as possible. The estimated tax rate per $1,000 of the assessed property value is $0.27 for each year of this proposed levy. If approved on April 26, 2022, the total local school tax rate is expected to drop in 2023 and is anticipated to decrease over the next four years. If property values go up, the amount collected ($0.27) is reduced.

If the levy fails a second time, the district may not place it on the ballot again until 2023. Planned capital projects would be delayed and the district would not be able to adequately maintain and upgrade its technology for student learning.

The District cannot wait until November to resubmit the levy for approval. When voters renew levy funding, the amount is approved by calendar years, January through December. However, public school district budgets are written by the school year which starts each September 1, running 12 months to August 31 of the following year. Public school budget planning begins in the spring for the next school year. To do so, school leaders must know how many dollars are available.

Does the increase in home prices in our community affect what taxpayers will pay with this measure?

No. Property tax assessments may fluctuate, but the district only collects the total amount approved by voters. When property values rise, rates go down.

The levy funds technology devices and supports learning for students and staff.

Thanks to voter support in 2018, all of Stanwood-Camano’s 4,500 students had access to a Chromebook computer to use during online learning throughout the pandemic. When the 2019 levy expires at the end of 2022, this levy will replace it to keep devices updated, supported, and properly maintained.

The proposed replacement levy will continue funding the purchase of computers, online curriculum, and technical support for students and their teachers. Specifically,

  • 25% of staff devices will be renewed each year (about 100 devices per year)

  • 25% of student Chromebooks will be renewed each year (about 1100 devices per year)

  • Out of date Chromebooks are returned for credit to purchase repair and replacement parts for current Chromebooks (screen repair, power cords, etc.)

  • Purchasing internet hotspots for families and district internet and filtering software

  • Learning applications/online learning supports (IXL, Robotics Software, Renaissance, assistive technology, Read and Write, Read Naturally, typing programs and more)

  • Communications tools such as School Messenger and S’more (school newsletters)

  • Security camera maintenance and licensing

  • Servers with backup power supplies during power outages (this allows us to maintain some phones and WiFi at schools when the power goes out)

Funding from the current levy has provided:

  • Expansion and update of student computing devices in the classroom and for home use by students.

  • Annual maintenance fees associated with online applications, subscriptions, and software licenses.

  • Renewal of about 25% of staff computers per year, about 100 devices.

  • Renewal of 25% of student Chromebooks per year, about 1,100 devices.

  • Maintenance and upgrades of the district WiFi network and filtering

  • Learning applications

  • Personnel, including four technology department staff and Technology Teacher on Special Assignment

  • Security, including camera installation and maintenance and access control licensing

  • Server upgrades

Capital Projects

The levy provides funding for prioritized facility improvements

Older systems such as boilers, roofs, fire sprinkler systems, public address systems, bleachers, security fencing, and sidewalks are at or near the end of their useful life. The proposed levy would fund:

  • New roof at Cedarhome Elementary;

  • New boilers at Cedarhome and Elger Bay;

  • Replacement fire sprinkler lines at Utsalady and Elger Bay Elementary Schools;

  • Portable maintenance at Port Susan, including new roofs, paint and siding repair;

  • Upgraded public address systems at Stanwood Middle and Stanwood Elementary Schools; and

  • Various projects to improve student safety, such as fencing, sidewalks, and bleacher replacements.

Funds from the current levy have provided:

  • Replacement of fire alarm systems at Cedarhome, Twin City, and Stanwood Elementary;

  • Playground safety improvements at Cedarhome, Elger Bay, and Utsalady Elementary;

  • Renovation and roof replacement for the facility that houses the Stanwood High School Transition Program; and

  • Window replacements for Stanwood Middle School (to occur in Summer 2023 using 2019-2020 levy funds).

Election date

In the April 26, 2022 election, Stanwood-Camano’s Capital Projects and Technology levy requires a simple majority, or 50% + 1 of the votes cast, to pass.

How can I vote?

Please register to vote through the Washington Secretary of State election website if you haven’t already done so. The April 26, 2022, special election is an all-mail election. Registered voters who live in the Stanwood-Camano School District boundary will receive their ballot around April 8, 2022. Ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday, April 26, 2022. No postage is required to return your ballot. There is a secure ballot drop box near the Stanwood Library at 9701 271st St NW and at the Island County Administration Building at 121 N East Camano Drive on Camano Island. The dropbox is open until 8 p.m. on Election Night.

Our community has a long history of supporting our schools and local control of educational programs. We are committed to openness and transparency. Please call 360-629-1200 or send an email to scsdinfo@stanwood.wednet.edu with any questions you may have about this proposal.
Big picture

Staff Recognition Program

To show our appreciation for certificated and classified employees, the Board of Directors look forward to continuing the staff recognition program for the 2021-22 school year. We are proud that our staff goes above and beyond for the children in the Stanwood-Camano School District.

Nominations for a Certificated or Classified Employee of the Month are accepted September through March for recognition at the building level with board, administration, and sponsor participation. One certificated and one classified employee are selected monthly from the nominations, coordinated by our program sponsor, Heritage Bank. All monthly award recipients will be considered for the Certificated and Classified Employee of the Year awards presented in May. Nominations are welcome from parents, community members, peers, administrators, and students.

Please let us know about some of the great deeds our staff are doing! Share personal examples of the dedication, commitment and passion these individuals have portrayed working for the Stanwood-Camano School District. Click on the link below to nominate an individual; give personal examples of why you believe this individual deserves recognition and share how they inspire others.

EMPLOYEE NOMINATION

Heritage Bank sponsors our employee recognition program in partnership with Stanwood and Camano Island area businesses.

Thank you!

Looking forward to another a great week!

Cherae Almanza, Principal

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal


Definition of HQTL

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.