Longhorn Stampede

(For 2/10-2/14) Learn. Empower. Accept. Develop.

Important Dates

Monday, February 17 Staff & Student Holiday

Wednesday, February 19 Garden Day for PK/Kdg

Monday, February 24 District 5th Grade Choir Performance, 6:00 pm, MHS

Wednesday, March 4 Garden Day for 5th Grade

Thursday, March 5 New Families Breakfast, 8:00 am

Thursday, March 5 LCARW Luncheon for 5th Grade Essay Winners

Tuesday, March 10 PTA Meeting, 9:00

Thursday, March 12 2nd Grade Program, 8:45

Friday, March 13 Tribe Day

Friday, March 13 End of 3rd 9 Weeks

March 16 - 20 Spring Break

Wednesday, March 25 Garden Day for 4th Grade

Friday, March 27 PreK Field Trip

Wednesday, April 1 Garden Day for 3rd Grade

Tuesday, April 7 4th Grade Writing STAAR; no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Tuesday, April 7 5th Grade Math STAAR; no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Wednesday, April 8 5th Grade Reading STAAR; no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Friday, April 10 Good Friday Holiday

April 13-17 Book Fair

April 13-17 Lunch with Loved Ones

4/13 PK, Kdg, 3rd; 4/14 4th, 5th; 4/15 1st, 4/16 2nd

Wednesday, April 15 Garden Day for 2nd Grade

Thursday, April 16 New Families Breakfast, 8:00 am

Thursday, April 23 1st Grade Program, 8:45 am

Thursday, April 23 GT Showcase, OHJH, 6pm-7pm

Friday, April 24 Tribe Day / Tribe Showcase Day

Wednesday, May 6 Garden Day for 1st Grade

Thursday, May 7 Field Day for Kdg, 1st, 2nd

Thursday, May 7 Singing Stars End of Year Performance, 6:00 pm

Friday, May 8 Field Day for 3rd, 4th, 5th

Tuesday, May 12 3rd & 4th Grade Math STAAR; no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Wednesday, May 13 Garden Day for PK/Kdg

Wednesday, May 13 3rd & 4th Grade Reading STAAR; no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Thursday, May 14 5th Grade Science STAAR; no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Monday, May 18 End of Year Awards: 9:30, 4th Grade; 9:30 PK; 12:30, 1st Grade; 2:30 ABLE

Tuesday, May 19 Kindergarten Graduation/Celebration, 8:45 am

Tuesday, May 19 End of Year Awards: 11:00, 2nd Grade; 2:00, 3rd Grade

Wednesday, May 20 5th Grade Recognition/Celebration, 8:45 am

Wednesday, May 20 Early Release, 1:00 pm no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Thursday, May 21 Early Release, 1:00 pm no lunch visitors due to schedule change

Habits at Home: Habit 5 - Respectfully Seek to Be Understood

This habit means
  • It is better to listen first and talk second.

  • You have two ears and one mouth-­‐you should be listening twice as much as you talk.

  • Listen to people sincerely.

  • When another person speaks, we are usually ‘listening’ at one of four levels:

  1. Ignoring
  2. Pretending
  3. Selective listening
  4. Attentive listening
  • Be an empathic listener.
  • Only 10 percent of our communication is represented by words we say, another 30 percent by our sounds, and 60 percent by body language


Most people don't listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.” –Stephen R. Covey.

Menus

Click to see what is being served for breakfast and lunch!

Lunch menus

PTA Fundraising