By:E Wondra

Phases of the moon

There are 8 phases of the moon. The phases start with a new moon and then it will go to a waxing crescent next first quarter and then a full moon. The first 4 phases of the moon are waxing which mean you are seeing more of the moon until a full moon. The next 4 phases of the moon are waning gibbous,third quarter and the last phase is waning crescent. Those 4 phases are waning witch mean you are seeing less and less. Then the whole process starts again. Each cycle last 28 days.
Moon Phases Song


What are seasons? Why do we have day and night? Why do we have years? First let's talk about season. Seasons are the earth rotation on its axis and the 4 hemispheres are in different places so we have 4 season every year depending on the Earths rotation. Next why do we have day and night? We have day because when the Earth is facing the sun it is bright so that is day. When the earth isn't facing the sun we have night.
Big image



Tides are the periodic rise and fall of the sea level under the gravitational pull. There are 2 different types of tides neap and spring tides. A spring tide is when the moon, earth and sun are all in line with each other. A neap tide is when the sun, earth and moon are perpendicular with each other. There is also diurnal and semidiurnal tides. Diurnal tides have one bight tide and one low tide per day. Semidiural have two low and two high tides per day.