Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 09.11.22

Big picture

Good morning!

As we move into the first full week of school, I can begin to see our routines established and student focus coming together. It is very important that we continue to work together as we support their social emotional and academic needs. Throughout our morning announcements/advisory time, using examples that they see daily will be key to making this connection.


This past week, we went over our Harassment, Intimidation, & Bullying policy with students with the message of being brave to stand up for one another in doing the right thing. It is important that students understand how to report uncomfortable situations &/or comments so we can educate and continue to have a positive learning environment. Our students have been doing great in regards to supporting one another as we begin school. Throughout their middle school experience, we want to make sure that all students feel safe and confident to grow as individuals. This is something that we want to always partner with families on because your support in this area will help us continue to educate students to choose kindness. Thank you for your support and communication with your student.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQuM5e0QGLg&t=2s
Big picture

Safe Schools

In addition to communicating by email, our district is enrolled in the SafeSchools Alert program. This provides a way to easily report tips on bullying, harassment, drugs, vandalism, or any other safety issues you are concerned about. Tips may be submitted anonymously. Thank you for helping to support our school community!
Big picture

Fall Sports Update

Based on our current XC numbers and an effort to help build the programs at both the middle and high school levels, 6th graders will be allowed to participate in XC this year (with an agreement in our new league). In order to participate, each student must have a physical, a completed registration form, and athletic insurance. PSMS Athletic Registration here

Prior to the first competition, students will need to purchase their ASB card ($20) and the Pay to Participate fee ($50). We are excited to offer an opportunity for 6th graders to be involved in another middle school sport. If you have questions, you can contact Crysty Auckland at cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Student Engagement

The Stanwood Camano Branch of AAUW held the September meeting at Port Susan Middle school this past week. The meeting brought back the girls who attended Tech Trek camp to share their experience with the Branch members. Teachers and counselors were invited to attend as well as the parents and siblings. Way to go Knights!

Teamwork

Chromebook Reminder

I highly suggest that you have a spot to charge your chromebook nightly in your home. If they do this, they should not need to bring their charger to and from school (device only). Along with this, if they would like to have headphones at school, we would like them to be wired headphones that work with chromebooks.


Please make sure to report any damage to the chromebook and/or if something goes wrong right away. Below is the fine list for the school year in regards to chromebooks.

Big picture

School Pictures

Port Susan Middle School Picture Day is Right Around the Corner...

Students will be photographed by O'Connor Photography Studio for their student ID card and school record on September 16th.

If you would like to purchase your student's portraits, click below to pre-order their portraits today!

https://vando.imagequix.com/g1000956224#login


You can also purchase by visiting our website at: www.oconnorphotographystudio.com

If you have any questions or need assistance

please give our studio a call at 1-800-993-4929

Bell Schedule

Thank you for working through our morning drop off to make sure students are in class and ready to learn by 7:40 a.m. on Mon/Tue/Thur/Fri and 9:00 a.m. on Wednesdays (bell schedule below). Our doors are open by 7 a.m. daily and students are dismissed to their first period at 7:25 a.m. (Mon/Tue/Thur/Fri) or 8:45 a.m. (Wed), so it is great to be to school a little early!
Big picture

Week of 09/12 through 09/16

Monday: Regular Schedule and (Social/Emotional Advisory)

Tuesday: Regular Schedule (Academic Focus Advisory)

Wednesday: Late Start (9 a.m.)

Thursday: Regular Schedule (Academic Focus Advisory) & Lunch Group (see below)

Friday: *Picture Day/Regular Schedule (Academic Focus Advisory)


Linked below are previous communications. Please continue to reach out with any questions you have. You can email me directly (calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu) or call our office at 360.629.1360 - we appreciate it!

August 21st

August 28th

September 4th

Big picture

Stay Updated!

The link below goes directly to the Friday family communications from the district office. I encourage you to take a look if you have any questions &/or would like more information about what is going on in our district.

Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tamara Pedersen (6-7 Math) tpedersen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Stunz (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) lstunz@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Jeffrey Trammell jtrammell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joshua Keaton (7/8 History) jkeaton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6 Social Studies) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Selena Wyman (guest teacher for Seth Hills) swyman@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.